We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay and sunday dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Garden House Inn
Ranked #15 of 39 Durham B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Went with my wife stayed three nights.Rooms are clean and well presented, though a bit overpriced. Breakfast continental ok but i prefer cooked meal. Bar prices quite high. Had sunday dinner lovely.Blade of beef cooked until it melts in the mouth. Well priced just under £10 ph.All in all a pleasant stay

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobcop_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
There are newer reviews for The Garden House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 242 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

I would avoid this restaurant at all costs. We waited over an hour for our meal consisting of two burgers and scampi, so nothing complicated. By the time it arrived we were starving and very disappointed. The hand cut chips were burnt and very greasy, the scampi soggy, the watercress had no dressing and the tartar sauce was missing. The burgers were tasteless and the bun soggy on the top with the same burnt, greasy chips. There was some enthusiasm about the red cabbage coleslaw though which seemed to go down well. I've got to say that the bar area is very well decorated and atmospheric with good background music and the staff pleasant enough so for a drink it's very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Four of us ate here on Saturday night and thought it some of the best food we had eaten this year. My starter of roast beetroot and black pudding with a horseradish quenelle was sublime, followed by shoulder of lamb on wilted spinach and puy lentils with fondant potatoes, perfectly cooked. The ambience is definitely ‘gastropub’ but the staff were friendly and efficient. The modest bill came as a pleasant surprise, leaving me wishing I’d had room to fit in one of their tempting deserts rather than a delicious affogato.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ratomago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Went here for a meal with my boyfriend. I could have passed out when the bill arrived. He got a steak and a pint and I had lamb with a small glass of wine. The lamb was chewy and the steak came with 2 chips, not alot for my 6 foot tall boxer ! But for £45 quid? I could have cried. My mam makes better food to be truthful, and from sainsburys so it costs about a fiver. Sod that macdonalds is just up the road!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Noteasilypleased24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

a great spot short walk from durham city centre -great menu in relaxing surroundings , cask ales -nice wine -pleasant staff - food really good - try the beef pie! not many nicer places to eat in durham

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank judith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights ,, the main road out the front you can here every car that passes but worse still when teg room next door decides to shower it's like someone driving a train through your room,, breakfast included unless you want something cooked that's extra,, and be prepared fur the very expensive London prices bar

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rufusevespree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The best meal we've had for a long time. really nice! All the food was amazing and great! We will be back very soon, the decor and atmosphere was great too.. all the staff were nice and friendly. The food was especially was amazing!! Could not fault anything.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovecoffeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,119 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
2.0 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 18 in Durham
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House Inn

Address: North Road, Durham DH1 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range: $105 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garden House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Garden House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing