We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Broom Farm Guest House
Nearby Hotels
The Honest Lawyer Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$188
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$106
$90
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Lumley Castle Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
$80
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bowburn Hall(Durham)(Great Value!)
$55
$49
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Durham City Centre(Durham)(Great Value!)
$79
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Bannatyne Hotel Durham(Durham)(Great Value!)
$51
$45
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Durham(Durham)(Great Value!)
$54
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveler rating
17
11
5
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
11
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbus stopbeamish museumvery comfortable staytwo nightsfull english breakfastcity centrefarmhouse
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 34 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Unfortunately our surprise visit to Durham seemed doomed as our usual accommodation was fully booked! However, Broom House was recommended to us and as luck would have it accommodation was available.To say we were pleasantly surprised would be an understatement. An old converted farmhouse with bags of history and stories to be told on the great patio area whilst having a refreshing cuppa! And only ten minutes away from Durham City centre!! (get the bus, bus stop directly outside the guest house as parking in Durham can be irritating!!) Our newly refurbished room was both spacious and clean with tv and a large bathroom for our own use. We were welcomed by the owner, Liz, who couldn't have been more helpful with information for local travel and sights to see. Breakfast!! Well, with chickens in the coupe I suspect Liz collected eggs that very morning they were so fresh! As was the rest of my breakfast. loads of it , including homemade jams and preserves. If there was a "downside" to our stay it would be the lack of a residents bar!! But, if needs must, a perfectly respectable bar that serves food is just down the road!! We would certainly recommend Broom Farm to our friends.

Room Tip: We had room Two but all rooms looked fab.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davey t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights (last weekend in August). I partly agree with some comments about it being 'dated' , but really you have to look at the fact that it is an old converted farm house, so it is old but has character.
The landlady was very friendly and the breakfast was very very nice ! Lots of choice and came freshly cooked and piping hot.
It was just a base as we were visiting our son and family nearby in Ushaw Moor, so it was very well located.
No problems at all, a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Only tried 1 room. Number 4. Situated at the front of the house.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kev361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our stop for the night at Broom House and White's Restaurant was an extremely pleasant surprise. The house with its history and remodeling was amazing. The dining experience was beyond words. But our favorite spot was the great patio for happy hour and tea. The hosts were so accommodating with tea upon our early arrival. Of all our Coast to Coast accommodations, this was by far our favorite stop.

Room Tip: Each room has its own character. You can't go wrong with any room. All have a view of the garden
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeslieO429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We booked all four bedrooms for my daughter to be married in Durham (away from home) in February. We could not have chosen a better place to stay, and the bride was delighted to be married from such a lovely family home.
We were made so welcome and the owners did everything and more to make our time there very special.
Good rooms and first class breakfasts. Safe parking, and an excellent location for visiting Durham.
I would love to stay there again, this time to explore the lovely countryside.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Very pleasant Guest House, ample parking, double room large and spacious equiped with everything you would need. Superb breakfast, very friendly owners, happy to share information from best place to eat to getting into Durham and other places to visit. Bus stop right outside Guest House, ideal for going into Durham, only takes about 7 minutes, regular buses all day, no problem going in for an evening meal. Twenty minutes from Beamish Museum, well worth a visit. On leaving the Guest House and heading away from Durham, instantly into the countryside with it's many public footpaths and the scenery is superb. Would certainly use this accommodation again, perfectly situated for everything as well as being very quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spaldingrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews