We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cafe, shame about the owner!”
Review of Coffee @ Chesneys

Coffee @ Chesneys
Ranked #9 of 11 Coffee & Tea in Durham
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe, shame about the owner!”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I have been visiting this cafe for the last three years but today will be the very last time! I went in today with a friend and our young babies and was met with an awful attitude by the female owner of the cafe, who clearly does not like people to bring their babies to the cafe, or more precisely, their buggies! If you open a cafe near shops, you will definitely have parents with children in buggies visiting so its probably best to set aside a small area in which buggies can be placed out of the way. As a result of her attitude, I wont be going there again which is a huge shame as some of the other staff there are great and so welcoming. The owner should really take some customer service tips from her staff! In this economic climate, can you really afford to make customers feel so unwelcome because they have small children? Probably not!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    20
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Friendly, good value cafe”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We regularly visit Chesney's and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, where we can read the papers and enjoy lunch. The coffee is good, the paninis tasty and the staff are very friendly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sherburn Road”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Popped in here when in the area with time to waste. I was suprised at how good quality the place was. Coffee, scones and cakes were delicious.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank mansell1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
120 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Bit of an attitude”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Coffee @ Chesneys, apart from having a silly @ in its name, is also aiming a bit high considering it's tucked away in a corner at a retail park.
A sign above the counter prohibits the use of "games and laptops" and as such, it is mostly populated by middle-aged women and their shopping.
I had a coffee, which was mediocre, and coffee cake, which was good, albeit a tad expensive.
The cafe offers a choice of tables or sofas – I opted for the latter, and it was very comfortable.
Not the place you would decide to meet someone at, but if all you need is a bit of respite from TK Maxx and Matalan, it's a good place to visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank thisusernamewastaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“pleasant cafe”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

pleasant cafe, nice comfortable seating
good menu choice

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank tara42ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coffee @ Chesneys also viewed

Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 
Durham, County Durham
 

Been to Coffee @ Chesneys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing