We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, nice staff and pleasant bedrooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Cambridge
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location, nice staff and pleasant bedrooms!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2010

Pleasantly surprised by this hotel which I had expected to be divoid of any personality! It was a lovely modern hotel with well appointed bedrooms. Nice bar and good food. All in all I would recommend this hotel. This was a birthday surprise for my wife whilst I had to attend a business conference the following day. PS - If you stay at this hotel don't go to the ASK restaurant in the town centre... far better to try the bar food at the hotel. Hotel is located near the bridge which crosses over into the city centre and is also near the shopping centre.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank iainpickles1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,020
    922
    317
    100
    48
See reviews for
333
1,129
77
461
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2010

i had an enjoyable one night stay here. i arrived early and was let inot my room. yes the view was out the back but someone has to have those and i was not paying the full rate so what do you expect. the room was spacious and comfortable although a couple would ahve been disappointed by the double being two singles pushed togtehr even with two separate duvets.

the bathroom was standrad for most hotels.

as other reviewers have said all of the staff you meet are friendly and helpful. following other reviews i chose to not have breakfast and ate at a cafe in durham where i had a freshly cooked english breakfast toast and a drink for less than £5.

as i got into my room early i was able to take advantage of a quiet pool and sauna which was very nice.

the walk to the city is about 5 mions but i agree that women on theior own might find the walk a little scary in the dark.

i enjoyed my stay here and woudl certainly stay again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leedsutdskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

We arrived just after noon for are 2 night brake and were allowed to check in which was a nice start ( i had e mailed before arrival to ask for upgrade but no luck) We were given a room overlooking the rear car park .The room itself was really nice large and modern the bathroom was on the small side but spotless you can tell that this is a new hotel. we went to the pool and this is a really nice area. we dined in the restaurant that had a buffet offer of £10-50 pp it was ok but nothing special and no atmosphere.The staff in the hotel are all really friedly. To sum up the hotel vary good value nice staff , vary clean and modern but the hotel lacks a warm atmosphere We had a look at the marriot county hotel and i think the interior had a lt warmer feel to it , the lounge and bar areas looked really nice.
Durham itself was really nice and would return soon, oldfields restaurant was superb we had the 3 course early doors menue and with wine cost £36 for two

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopefarm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

We have just returned from a very pleasant, relaxing weekend with friends in Durham The hotel is ideally situated for easy access by foot to the city centre. The Hotel is very clean with spacious rooms (business class) with excellent facilities. All staff we met ,both in reception & dining room were friendly and helpful at all times-nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast ,included in our deal, was outstanding & catered for all tastes. The down side came after we viewed our bill on the T.V. screen in our room & noticed we'd been charged for room service which we hadn't had . On inspection of the dockets it became evident that the name & signature bore no resemblance to ours, nor was there a room number on the receipt. Fortunately it was soon resolved amicably. Be aware that there is a £6.50 charge per night for the privileged of using the hotel car park.
The Market Tavern, in the city centre, 5minutes walk from the hotel, is to be recommended for the quality & choice of beers & ale. Oldfields restaurant was recommended by the Hotel receptionist but a long wait, very small portions & expensive wine marred our evening. There is an abundance of restaurants in Durham but we opted to eat in the hotel restaurant on the second evening & had a most enjoyable meal. Beamish Museum, about a 20 minute drive from the hotel, is an attraction not to be missed.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank double07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottesford
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2010

Stayed here when visting Durham , hotel is right next to the river just out of the city centre .Secure parking costing guest £6.95 for overnight guests .Our room was spacious and clean although it looked out to the carpark to the rear of the hotel .River view rooms would have been so much better . Staff we came across were all polite , we did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment .

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTruth12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2010

Phew , i made it back to the hotel alive!
I stayed in Durham at a time when most of the guesthouses were closed. I would nt normally stay in a hotel as i prefer places with more soul but in january alot of smaller places were closed. I had a choice of a guesthouse with breakfast for 75 pounds or the sas for 75. But then i had to pay extra for breakfast and to park so it came to over a £100, a bit unfair really to the unsuspecting.
I viewed the hotel on the map and it appears to be close to the shops but in reality its a long spooky walk past some ugly office blocks and through a very scary underpass. Whilst not the fault of the hotel it was really off putting and i wouldnt want to risk it again.If they hadnt hoodwinked me over the price. Probably just sour grapes but wish id stayed in a more traditional place actually near the shops and restarants.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionaemackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

I chose this hotel for numerous reasons. Mainly because it is next door to the Durham Passport Office (I was getting a new passport, and had to wait 5 hours for it to be processed), and also because of the great reviews on this website.

I arrived at the hotel around 7pm on a Friday evening. There was a great atmosphere in the hotel as I walked past the bar, to be greeted by very friendly reception staff. I was checked in straight away, and given key information about the hotel facilities (opening times of the restaurants, gym, spa etc). All very friendly and useful. Such a great start to my evening!

I took the lift up to my room on the top floor. My room was a 'business class' room. I was surprised at how spacious the room was. Very roomy. There was a flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, 2 bottles of complimentary bottled water, a fully stocked mini bar, bathrobe, slippers. FREE wireless and wired internet (very rare for luxury hotels). The bathroom was fantastic, with a walk in shower, and luxury toiletries.

I took advantage of the complimentary breakfast that came with the business class room. It was one of the best room service breakfasts I'd ever had. A basket of pastries, a bowl of tropical fruits, toasts, jams/marmalades, along with a cooked english breakfast + orange / apple juice. What more could you want?

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone. It's in the centre of Durham, it has secured car parking, is next door to the passport office, and the staff are fantastic. Treat yourself to a business class room. It's more like a suite, and the breakfast is worth the upgrade alone!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newcastle24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing