We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well presented, spacious room, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Enjoyed an overnight stay in a Junior suite, business class. A very spacious room, well presented, the bathroom was a nice touch of luxury - twin basins, a large bath and a separate shower cubicle, with underfloor heating throughout.
The bed was fabulous, large and very firm.
The aircon was a bit noisy and we had to switch it off through the night which made the room overly warm.
The additional touches were nice - nice quality toiletries in generous size, Nespresso coffee machine, high quality robes.(No biscuits though!)
The corridors throughout the hotel were way too warm!
Reception staff were very courteous, very efficient, although upon arrival they offered that the sofa bed would be made up, but it wasn't, and when we asked for it to be done we were advised there would be a £20 additional charge!!
A nice selection of food at breakfast though service wasn't as good as I would expect.
All in all, the presentation of the hotel was good, bar staff service was good. The rooms were nicely decorated and the location of the hotel is ideal to walk in to Durham centre.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princess0191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for your excellent review of the hotel
I hope you we can welcome you back soon!
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,565 - 1,571 of 2,693 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is a lovely hotel. Great location, friendly staff, clean and nicely decorated rooms. We did the Business Class upgrade deal which was worth the extra. Our room was a good size, nice view of the river and we enjoyed our pre-dinner drinks. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. The pool was great too and just the right temperature for a swim. All in all a perfect weekend break hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank LandSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for your excellent 5* review
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and pleased to hear you took advantage of our Business Class upgrade option. Hopefully we can welcome you back very shortly!
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We had to have the air-con disabled - it was obvious from the moment we stepped into the room that we would have got no sleep otherwise. This meant there as also no heating, but the quiet was what we needed.

The bar was not especially busy, but they managed to run out of Newcastle Brown Ale - the local speciality beer.

Location was nice, but the decor was drab and the lobby had no atmosphere - a vibe of everything done as cheaply as possible.

The breakfast was not appetising - bacon swimming in fat and water. Why is each piece folded on itself so that one side is not cooked directly? The 'fresh' fruit smoothies may have been freshly made, but I would swear that it contained tinned peaches.

The main issue we had with breakfast was that on one morning all the crockery was dirty, and the glasses. We could not find clean plates, cups or cutlery. Staff shrugged their shoulders. If you want one of the kippers they advertise as available, you better get down early; they had gone on both mornings we were there. We're not sure what the coffee was - seemed to have no kick.

Best thing about the place was the spa - good steam and sauna - included in the room price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel
I am glad you enjoyed our complimentary leisure facilities but disappointed you had some issues with the breakfast. If you would like to give any further details on your experience, please email me direct at louise.turnbull@radissonblu.com
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

A very friendly hotel with attentive and great staff. Nothing too much trouble. Good restaurant and great Breakfast choice from the buffet. Room was spacious and a lovely view over the river and the Cathedral if you request this option.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for your excellent review of the hotel
I hope we can welcome you back soon!
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had a really enjoyable weekend break at this big modern hotel. It's location was perfect for a weekend in Durham and our room was fantastic with a great view of the River. Big hotels of this type can seem cold and impersonal but we found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The weekend here was relaxing and comfortable - just what we wanted.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for your 5* review!
I'm delighted you enjoyed your weekend stay with us and hope we can welcome you back shortly.
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Excellent service from all staff, Accommodation was excellent. Food presentation and quality were up to a very high standard. Facilities were very good. Nothing was too much trouble for the very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank 163jeffreyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for your 5* review!
I'm very happy you enjoyed your weekend trip and hope we can welcome you back very soon!
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

I booked a stay at the hotel through Stephanie Louise Moore who was a great help advising me on any questions I had, she did great and I am thankful to her for that. The hotel is in a good location on arrival the staff were great and Rebecca(Blond hair) I think her name was helped with the check in. When we got in the room everything was out ready for our arrival and a nice touch from the staff for Tom and Nick with a note wishing them a happy birthday thanks for that! The little snacks were good aswell! I asked for there to be ice buckets and glasses in room which were there but the only issue I would say was the small slim glasses were dirty! The pool and gym were good quality with the staff down there kind and welcoming.

After the pool and gym we then went to see the free bar within the business class and preseidental suite package, that was good the bar area for that was small but we sat outside and in the atrium so was soon organised. I did ask however for a tray to take the drinks all together and the bartender said they had no trays behind the bar whatsoever ... But wasn't an issue, there was a broken glass which took a while to clean up and used paper towels instead of a mop to wipe the floor up and not using a wet floor sign neither.

The room was a great size each had there own space and the taxi was booked and on time to head to Newcastle on the night out! Overall I'm pleased with the service and you should be proud of your staff, I will be back to stay again soon, as I work at The Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester

Thanks again Scott

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for your detailed review of the hotel
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope Tom and Nick had a great birthday!
I hope we can welcome you back to Durham soon!
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
561 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range: $105 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing