We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beatiful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beatiful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

The Radison in Durham is in a perfect location close to all amenties. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the receptionist especially helpful in giving us a map of the area and recommending restaurants and bars. Will definatley go back to this hotel for another romantic weekend break.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your excellent 5* review
I'm happy you enjoyed your romantic weekend and hope we can welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    912
    316
    98
    48
See reviews for
328
1,112
76
460
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

The hotel is situated on the bank of the river, and just across the adjacent bridge, is the bus stop for the city if you don't fancy the short (but uphill) walk into the centre. In the Radisson tradition, the hotel is a modern and welcoming, and the rooms are large, clean, well decorated and very comfortable. The Restaurant has an Italian theme and the food is acceptable.
The downside of this hotel is the cost of the parking on site, but if you decide to travel by train, the rail station is within 5 minutes of the hotel, making it a perfect hotel for a weekend break.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the river are on the 'sunny side' - no extra charge, but you would need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLife100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of the hotel
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll come back and visit us again soon!

Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Radisson Blu is a really smart hotel with great leisure and dining facilities. The room I stayed in was bright and clean with a great view of the river. The lounge area is modern, comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Debbie002013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your positive review of the hotel
I hope we can welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel for a wedding we were attending at Bowburn Hall and this was the closest location with rooms still available. When we arrived there was no car parking spaces available so had to park in a non designated area and upon check in we were told there was no booking in our name. I had booked through Superbreak so whether this is a fault of there's or the Radisson it's not something you expect from companies if their calibre, had I not had a print out of my booking confirmation or proof I imagine we would have had to pay. The room was spacious and had everything we needed and the reception booked us a taxi through a local company. Breakfast is busy so don't expect to be seated straight away,staff were friendly but it took over 15 minutes for a special of poached eggs (1 egg!!) to be brought to the table. We didn't use any of the other facilities but we did check out the pool and it looked lovely. Upon checkout we were asked to the pay for the room and explained the mix up from the night before, because of this the guy on reception didn't charge us for overnight parking. All in all nice facilities and good location but apparently rubbish systems.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bex_doyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel
I apologise for the niggles you faced during your stay with us, especially the busy car park and the delay on your breakfast specials. I am pleased, however, that you enjoyed your stay overall and hope we can welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

I choosed Radisson because I like modern nordic style in hotels (no baroque, old fashioned and decadent luxury hotel); booked by phone at last second, 2 rooms for me, wife and son; everything was fine; in addition a second day was possible also for the professional kindness of receptionist.
Rooms were clean, big, essential and quiet.
Tried the italian restaraunt too: above average for english standards, but not "truly" italian
I think it's best hotel in Durham.

Room Tip: ask room a little away from elevators: they keep announcing floor and "up/down"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M-Leica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your positive review
I'm thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay enough to extend it for an extra night.

Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorn,Co.Durham
Level Contributor
276 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Afternoon tea served from 10.30 to 5.00 a great idea. The sandwiches really fresh, the scones both cheese and fruit were warm and fresh, and although the tarts and cakes looked delicious we really didnt manage to do them justice!
Would have liked another coffee included in the price as I dont drink tea but I suppose its the same everywhere.
Well done Radisson Blu ...will come back soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
I'm happy that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea with us and hope you'll come back to visit us shortly!

Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Ohio
Level Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

WE stayed at this hotel to attend a family wedding in Durham England. Excellent location - short walk to center of town - delicious buffet breakfast - clean, spacious room - friendly helpful staff. Would stay again if in Durham.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thanks for your great 5* review of the hotel
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us while you were visiting Durham and hope you come back and stay with us in the future!

Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.5 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometers away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing