We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Recently stayed at the Radisson Blu Hotel in Durham on Saturday and overall was very pleasantly surprised as I was expecting being disturbed through the night with "hen & stag" night revellries which did not happen (all credit to those young 'uns who stayed there)!! Lovely Receptionists, nice bar area, good breakfast and excellently situated so close to the city centre. My grumbles were that although our room was lovely with a smashing view over the river, the carpet was badly stained in places and I had to ask for more toilet rolls. Will not hesitate to stay there again though.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4bearsWhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you for your review of the hotel
I apologise that there appeared to be stain on the carpet in your room. I will pass the feedback directly to our housekeeping team so corrective action can be taken immediately.
I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us overall and I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel very shortly!

Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,506 - 1,512 of 2,622 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

The Radison in Durham is in a perfect location close to all amenties. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the receptionist especially helpful in giving us a map of the area and recommending restaurants and bars. Will definatley go back to this hotel for another romantic weekend break.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you for your excellent 5* review
I'm happy you enjoyed your romantic weekend and hope we can welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The hotel is situated on the bank of the river, and just across the adjacent bridge, is the bus stop for the city if you don't fancy the short (but uphill) walk into the centre. In the Radisson tradition, the hotel is a modern and welcoming, and the rooms are large, clean, well decorated and very comfortable. The Restaurant has an Italian theme and the food is acceptable.
The downside of this hotel is the cost of the parking on site, but if you decide to travel by train, the rail station is within 5 minutes of the hotel, making it a perfect hotel for a weekend break.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the river are on the 'sunny side' - no extra charge, but you would need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelLife100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you for your kind review of the hotel
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll come back and visit us again soon!

Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Radisson Blu is a really smart hotel with great leisure and dining facilities. The room I stayed in was bright and clean with a great view of the river. The lounge area is modern, comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Debbie002013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you for your positive review of the hotel
I hope we can welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We booked this hotel for a wedding we were attending at Bowburn Hall and this was the closest location with rooms still available. When we arrived there was no car parking spaces available so had to park in a non designated area and upon check in we were told there was no booking in our name. I had booked through Superbreak so whether this is a fault of there's or the Radisson it's not something you expect from companies if their calibre, had I not had a print out of my booking confirmation or proof I imagine we would have had to pay. The room was spacious and had everything we needed and the reception booked us a taxi through a local company. Breakfast is busy so don't expect to be seated straight away,staff were friendly but it took over 15 minutes for a special of poached eggs (1 egg!!) to be brought to the table. We didn't use any of the other facilities but we did check out the pool and it looked lovely. Upon checkout we were asked to the pay for the room and explained the mix up from the night before, because of this the guy on reception didn't charge us for overnight parking. All in all nice facilities and good location but apparently rubbish systems.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Bex_doyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel
I apologise for the niggles you faced during your stay with us, especially the busy car park and the delay on your breakfast specials. I am pleased, however, that you enjoyed your stay overall and hope we can welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I choosed Radisson because I like modern nordic style in hotels (no baroque, old fashioned and decadent luxury hotel); booked by phone at last second, 2 rooms for me, wife and son; everything was fine; in addition a second day was possible also for the professional kindness of receptionist.
Rooms were clean, big, essential and quiet.
Tried the italian restaraunt too: above average for english standards, but not "truly" italian
I think it's best hotel in Durham.

Room Tip: ask room a little away from elevators: they keep announcing floor and "up/down"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M-Leica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you for your positive review
I'm thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay enough to extend it for an extra night.

Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Afternoon tea served from 10.30 to 5.00 a great idea. The sandwiches really fresh, the scones both cheese and fruit were warm and fresh, and although the tarts and cakes looked delicious we really didnt manage to do them justice!
Would have liked another coffee included in the price as I dont drink tea but I suppose its the same everywhere.
Well done Radisson Blu ...will come back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

I'm happy that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea with us and hope you'll come back to visit us shortly!

Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,138 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
533 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range: $108 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing