We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay in Durham”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overnight stay in Durham”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Hotel is in an excellent location, 5mins walk from the rail station (downhill going to the hotel but it's a steep walk going back up to the station!).

My room and bed were comfortable, I thought the bathroom was a bit smaller than you normally get at a Radisson but I was travelling solo so not a major problem.

There was a small fridge in the room (instead of a mini-bar) so I was able to buy drinks from a local supermarket and take them back to my room.

The city centre was within a few minutes walk so plenty of bars and restaurants nearby and the cathedral is approx. 10mins walk from the hotel. My room was on the riverside so I had an excellent view from the room.

I didn't use the spa facilities but I'm told that they are excellent by friends who have stayed at this hotel before.

Reception staff were friendly and efficient, I'd be happy to stay at this hotel on any future trip to the North East.

Room Tip: Ask for a "river side" room for a view of the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonUK007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
I look forwards to seeing you when your travels bring you back to the area.
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,034
    934
    318
    100
    49
See reviews for
335
1,140
79
467
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We had a great weekend break at the Radisson Blu Hotel in Durham. The hotel far surpassed our expectations. The upgrade to an executive suite included breakfast, car parking and drinks in the executive lounge - well worth it! The location is superb, overlooking the River Wear, and just a short walk over the bridge into the town centre. Perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank J925IQmarkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thanks for the 5 star review!
I love it when we surpass peoples expectations!!!
I hope we can continue to do this in the future for you
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Me and my husband stayed here on Friday night 07/03/14 for a last minute evening away. We did request early check but were told on arrival that no rooms were available, this was a little disappointing, however we were able to leave our bag and have a walk into the town centre (5 minutes away). We were extremely impressed with our room once we were able to check in, it was extremely clean, modern and huge! we were very impressed with the stay, just a couple of things could of made it even better.... The early check in and none of the staff gave us any info on the car park so we paid over £10 to park for 24 hrs and were later told by another visitor we could of parked for free! Overall, we would definitely return, lovely hotel in a great location

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candsNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for the review of the hotel and I look forwards to welcoming you back very soon
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Booked a business class room for a couple of nights for a leisure break: well pleased. By the time car parking, breakfast, newspaper and complimentary drinks are included, the room upgrade costs very little. A pleasant room on the fourth floor, a bit of shape to it rather than a standard cuboid, and a nice sofa to relax on with the Sunday papers. The staff are charming and helpful and I was more than impressed with how they coped with Sunday breakfast. There were hordes of people, but the staff were efficient, unflustered and even kept smiling. Top marks!

Just slightly disappointed with the pool - not all the lights were on, and it just seemed a bit dingy on a wet Sunday afternoon. Not sure about the floors either - slightly slippery: I was not the only one who slightly slipped.

But overall, an excellent stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thanks for the review
Hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I was part of a large group who stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel was spotless and had the most amazing pleasant, cheerful and helpful staff in all areas. They were smart in appearance and a credit to the hotel. The bedroom was spacious, light and airy and with plenty of lights for reading. The bed and pillows were so comfy,and the bathroom had lovely fluffy towels, good quality toiletries and a large magnifying mirror- certainly everything I needed. There was also and iron and ironing board in the room- I really felt at home.
Breakfast was a feast with plenty of choice. Full English breakfast from a buffet or you could order 'specials' which were cooked and brought to your table. Cereals, prunes, grapefruit, melon, yoghurts and hot porridge all to choose from. Plenty of cold choices also, cheese, tomatoes, cucumber, cold cuts, smoked salmon, fresh fruit etc. Also lovely fresh continental type bread and rolls.
The only problem during the stay was that the evening meal was not piping hot on a couple of occasions. This was however rectified and certainly did not spoil the holiday and I would not hesitate to recommend this lovely hotel in a great position for getting around Durham and even using it for a base for exploring the wider area.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the river. Very quiet though, no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parkyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thanks for the 5 star review.
I hope its not too long before we see you again
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed here for two nights for a business trip. I was very impressed as it didn't feel like a standard business hotel, but had an element of luxury about it. The queen rooms were very big, lovely and clean with a nice bathroom. I thought the staff were very friendly and kind. Breakfast was good, with a solid choice, and veggie options, which was great. The location is good, with easy access into town and on the bank of the river. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordTravelLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for the review of the hotel.
Hope to see you again soon
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Rooms were well-priced, very modern, spacious and clean, and Wifi connection was strong. Location is okay, as it is located directly across the street from the River Wear, and within easy walking access to the Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle, and city centre. Beds were comfy, but the pillows were rather flat, which took some getting used to. I would stay here again, but wouldn't mind exploring other hotels in the area for comparison before booking again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for the review of the hotel
Hope to welcome you back through the doors again soon
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Rezidor, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing