We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great rooms and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just spent one night there but we had booked two rooms, unfortunately no family accommodation available so price was pretty steep and no discount for second room or upgrade as some other hotels offer, same for breakfast too , no family deals.
Both rooms were ready on arrival , quick service at reception. Large, clean and roomy, with view over the river (despite all the building work across ) it was quiet at weekend and the view of the cathedral is a plus !
We really enjoyed a good size pool (although not deep , you can do a few decent laps), sauna , jacuzzi and steam room. All amenities around and in hotel , perfectly maintained to a high standard. The hotel seems busy at times with a wedding on that particular Saturday but it did not bother us. Large group of sporty looking ladies too ,with huge bags in the lift at times.
Excellent location, 10mn walk down from train station if you travel light (save you a £5 ), use the stairs past roundabout and traffic light straight on, just before the bridge you can hear the water, take the stairs on your left to 'passport office' and down to river level, it's further along on your left, just by the white bridge. From the hotel, use the white bridge to cross over and get to the castle or cathedral. Everything is very close.
I love the pool and I know that there is a clothes hanging facilities in each bathrooms upstairs in the rooms but why not purchase a spinning machine in the changing room so we don't use plastic bags with our wet swimming costumes ? That would be more eco-friendly ? Also the rooms would do with a bit more selection for hot drinks .

Room Tip: A room facing the river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sierrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,651)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,743 - 1,749 of 2,652 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as a base to explore Durham City. A lovely hotel in a great location. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was amazing - busy but a well organised army of staff made sure that everyone was served quickly and efficiently. Room was top notch. A really good place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGP-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Would recommend this hotel for pleasure and business. A comfortable room, pleasant bar. An ideal spot to see the attractions.Reception staff excellent. Having just returned from an Italian tour, the restaurant was a little disappointing in its attempt to be Italian. All else was very good. We did not use the spa, but the pool was ideal for a refreshing swim. We chose to eat out for breakfast because it seemed a little expensive for our needs and there were many other choices in the area.Would stay again when in the area.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 740Elly48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I chose this hotel as it had a gym and a swimming pool so plenty to keep my occupied in the evenings as travelling for business alone. I used both the pool and gym and even tried the Spa facilities on the last day. All were fine, although the girl in the spa did talk the whole way through my manicure and pedicure when I was hoping for a bit of peace and relaxation. Food was good in the restaurant but breakfast buffet is a little limited. If you pay more, you can order cooked food but I didn't have time so just stuck with the buffet. There were 3 coaches of elderly people also staying at the hotel during my stay, which made eating at the hotel a bit of a nightmare. The dining room is a bit small considering the number of rooms the hotel has so there was a long wait for a table for dinner. Breakfast, with elderly guests negotiating the buffet with their zimmer frames, was also a bit slow and stressful. I assume they don't always have so many elderly guests though so would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarphati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here 41 of us in total, in our party, they didnt want to know us, we had to wait an age for the evening meal which was very poor, the kitchen dont know how to make a salad, one lady is reporting them to trading standards, for the cesar salad, she took a photo of it, all there was on the plate was loads of salad leaves and bits of bread not even toasted and a very thin dressing, which looked liked watered down mayo, there were 3 coach partys staying there 160 people in total, and just 3 staff to serve all, very very bad

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat137110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I've been really looking forward to writing this review because from the moment I started to plan this trip it was made very easy by the Radisson Blu contacts in Durham and rest fell nicely into place..
The booking was for a fairly large group, so sometimes you can forgive human error if mistakes are made with large bookings - and I pleased to say that there were none made. In fact the person I dealt with went out of their way to upgrade some of us and add very special touches where they saw it would make a difference. But also the reception team were lovely & very thoughtful and so were all members of staff that I met.

I often talk about the 'people' who work at the hotels that I review. This is because it can completely change my option of a hotel and it is not just about aesthetics. Without these dedicated & excellent individuals and teams it would be a very different experience for me and all of us.
In fact this team should send some of their best down to London to show the Radisson Blu teams there just how to treat loyal customers.. based on my own experience comparison.
The hotel is lovely, very clean and well presented. The restaurant gets very busy but even then they were able to accommodate our large groups and there was another even large group there at the same time. The food is very good.
The rooms were all very good in size and we needed some family rooms & an accessible room, all of which were very nice.

The facilities are great - swimming pool was used by our group and enjoyed. The location is lovely, right on the river and a short walk into the various parts of the centre of Durham. Close to restaurants & bars. They have their own car park.
it was an excellent experience and I would highly recommend you visit this lovely hotel & Durham City.

Room Tip: I saw a three room types and all were of a very good standard and spacious. The rooms on higher floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreen626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We spent a long weekend in Durham and the surrounding areas in April, and spent three nights at the Radisson Blu Hotel. Reception staff were efficient and friendly, although their first task seemed to be to sort out the car-parking fees! Our room was large and clean, with a huge bed and, although we overlooked the car park and the NE main line was visible, it was actually very quiet: sleep quality was excellent. Breakfast at the hotel was very good with lots of choice, although it was very busy when we were there (War Widows' Convention) and as it was "help yourself" it was quite an assault course to avoid everyone when getting back to your seat! We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant in the evening, preferring to stroll into the city and eat at one of the many places available. We did take advantage of the swimming pool in the attached health club which was very nice, with sauna and steam room and jacuzzi. The location of the hotel was very pleasant, set along the banks of the River Wear with an easy walk into the city centre, and a nice place for a stroll along the river, under the Cathedral. As a base for sight-seeing, this hotel is perfectly positioned, having the city centre within walking distance, but with easy access by car to the surrounding countryside and attractions. Although I initially thought the car park charge was a bit steep (£7 per day), on reflection it was well worth it as there is virtually nowhere to park in Durham that you don't have to pay for! All in all, a nice hotel and a great base for sightseeing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikkiDHitchin_Herts_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,170 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
544 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range: $109 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing