We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel let down by spa facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Second time we have stayed at this hotel and we have went home not wanting to return again, last time we stayed we were guests for 1 night, this time we stayed 2 nights as a birthday treat for my partner. The room was clean tidy and beautifully decorated it was let down by 2 single beds pushed together which kept separating and either me or my partner found ourselves falling down the middle. Secondly we tried over the 3 days we were there to get into the spa for a treatment as a treat for my partners birthday and every day we rang the spa was fully booked this angered me as this hotel is advertised as spa hotel which this is not the case as the reception staff informed me that the "spa" is third party!! Considering we chose this hotel to have a relaxing time away from the children and a treat for us to use the spa facilities/ treatments. This ruined our time at the hotel and after paying £184 for the 2 night stay, the 24-hour room service is only optional for cold sandwiches. The first meal we ordered had still not arrived well over an hour and when we rang to ask about the order we were told the order hadn't been placed as the systems were down!! Although we did have a complimentary meal which arrived in less than 15 mins. The main complaint which has angered me was the fact that the spa treatments were fully booked all weekend which we should have been informed of this on arrival and we would not have continued to go ahead with our booking!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kwilki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,691)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,990 - 1,996 of 2,692 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 1 night on the 2nd February. The hotel itself is ideally located for durham and all the shops, restaurants etc. the reception area was clean and nicely furnished. To pay for parking do so at reception, not in the car park, as it is cheaper. We paid 7 pounds for overnight.The staff are friendly and polite which is always a bonus! Our room was great for what we paid. Large bed, good furnishings, bathroom was a good size with the usual complimentary toiletries (very nice soap by the way ). We had drinks in the bar. A bit pricey but i guess it is expected in a nice hotel in the centre of Durham. There was a wedding reception going on in the evening. We were not disturbed by any noise, well not until the neighbour returned late to bed and gracefully slammed her bedroom door shut ! There is a wide choice at breakfast. All the usual continental and hot buffet food. The only reason we are not giving this full marks is because the hot buffet breakfast was actually a bit cold. Overall though a great hotel, lovely staff, and spot on location. We will go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaintsRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I must say from our arrival everthing was first class staff were helpful room was excellent and we had view overlooking the river nice large room very comfortable bed plenty of wardrobe space Shanice really enjoyed the pool sauna and jacuzzi good breakfast plenty of choice the wedding and reception was excellent would recomend it to anyone

Room Tip: Rooms on the South side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanette021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

New hotel on the riverside with views of the castle from some rooms . Ours sadly looked over the car park and some noisey fans. The room was as expected from an international chain .
The great advantage of this hotel is that central Durham is just over the footbridge 5 minutes walk.
Breakfast buffet was a little limited for a higher level hotel
Nice swimming pool and spa areas.
I would recommend to friends

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pippasmum_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Today I went to use the leisure club, it was modern, clean, well maintained and the facilities were excellent. The staff were happy and helpful and gave me a warm welcome. Afterwards I ate in the hotel bar, which was comfortable and had a broad and appetising menu. The service in here was also friendly and warm. The food was lovely. Will definitely re-visit

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galefilburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for business in November 2012 with 2 colleagues.
When we arrived, the hotel was full and our reservation could not be found, and it was some 20 minutes before the matter was resolved. However, there was the slightest hint of a default position from the receptionist of "your mistake not ours". In the end, it was discovered to be a hotel problem rather than our own.
That aside, our stay was largely fine. My room was well appointed, the free internet worked without any problems at all, and the evening meal in the bar was prompt and of good quality. breakfast was something of an experience - was directed to a table, and asked for tea/coffee etc. I went to the buffet to get a juice only to return to find a conference party had expanded their numbers onto my table... the same member of staff who sat them there obviously forgot I had just been sat there. Otherwise, the breakfast was very good.
All in all, a good stay, but for a couple of hiccups.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjd74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Lovely hotel, very comfortable, room large and well furnished, comfortable bed. Lobby welcoming, as were check in staff, sauna and pool area were great. Hotel has free wifi, which although a little slow, is good, and should be adopted by all hotels.

Location is fine, on the river, had a room with nice river view, footbridge outside hotel to take you across into the centre of the city.

Would happily return for all of theset hings, but not the breakfast, which was one of the worst I think I've had in an hotel. Usual buffet, but spoilt by being bland and tasteless. Scrambled eggs disgustingly runny and lacking in any taste at all. So sad, and so annoying.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesdinovaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,195 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
473 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range: $105 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing