We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd Stay, and will stay again, as this is how a contemporary hotel should be.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Durham is one of our favourite places for a weekend, and the Radisson Blu is where we stay. The hotel is very well designed, well appointed with lovely spacious rooms (exec class) with a bedroom area, a separate lounge area, a dressing area and an ensuite bathroom. For £125 per night including breakfast this is exceedingly good value. However value is just one of the plusses. All the pub,ic areas and rooms are spotlessly clean. Staff are very well trained at both reception, generally, and in the restaurant both at dinner and breakfast. The Filini menu is very good with plenty of choice and the food we ate tasted as if it could have been prepared and served in Tuscany. The puddings were wonderful. If we lived in Durham this would be a regular destination for eating out. Breakfast, buffet style was superb both in choice and quality. Overall this is how a contemporary hotel should be, but very rarely is. As it's the 3rd time we have stayed with this quality and level of service, it's clearly not an exception but the norm there. We will certainly stay again whenever we can and would highly recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: Book Exec if you can, it's worth the difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sfwproperty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,058 - 2,064 of 2,724 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

For £32.00 per head the food was average taking into account the mass catering! The room however was very cramped and you were packed in like sardines I was almost sitting on the guys knee next to me there was so little room. The dance floor was tiny and the entertainment was poor that coupled together the drinks prices made for a very sobering evening which lacked atmosphere!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dh247jfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

we needed a room for one night on our way to collect our son from university in Newcastle and the rates were much better in Durham than Newcastle. We booked a business class room and it was larger than we expected with a separate sitting area. The room was very clean and bathroom likewise.
The bed was too hard for me but my husband found it fine.
Breakfast was self service with plenty of choice, all well cooked despite being very busy as this is the Christmas party season

We found the hotel quiet and everyone helpful and would recommend it if you are staying in Durham

Room Tip: ask for room over the river, we had the car park, not very pretty!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hereandthere23528789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed hear for one night. The hotel is a 10minute walk from the City centre.
It's up to the usual Raddison standard.
The service at the bar in the lobby was terrible.
It wouldn't have been so bad if they were busy. I felt invisible.
Apart from that everything else was very good.
Can't comment on the breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KWDEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was a good quality hotel for a great weekend in Durham. Just a short walk across a bridge right to the center of town.
We had 2 rooms, one of which was a club room, a nice touch was the free bar for an hour each evening for club guests.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

My wife and i stayed here for our ten year wedding anniversary. On arrival the reception staff could not have been any more helpful or welcoming. Our room was fabulous with a view of the river. Room service was fast and very friendly. Gorgeous clean hotel in great location. Will definitely be staying again .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanpringle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We had our corporate Xmas party at this hotel on Friday 7th December. Check-in was quick, friendly and professional. There was a group of us and 6 of us had arranged to stay over - we were allocated inter-connecting rooms on the third floor with fantastic views over the river and Durham cathedral. The location of this hotel is lovely and it's easy to drive to. The rooms were modern and comfortable with everything you would expect and we were all delighted with them. The Xmas party night was great - considering the amount of people there, the food was of a really good quality. It was a 4-course meal of soup, turkey + trimmings, panacotta and hot mince pies. The live singer (Carrie??) was excellent and got everyone in the party spirit, then were was a disco on until 1pm. We took a load of champagne and wine back to our rooms and continued our party until 3am. We all slept really well and went down for breakfast in the morning. Full English was really good with plenty of toast, coffee and fresh orange juice. The whole night including the meal, the party, the rooms and breakfast worked out at £67 per head. We thought it was excellent value for money and are looking to rebook for next year. Last year we went to the Ramside and were a little disappointed with the quality in relation to the price. The Radisson is in a far better location and we enjoyed it so much more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river and cathedral. The views were fabulous and I think the other s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzHartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
483 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range: $119 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing