We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, super breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Spent one night here on our North East England road trip in March.
We upgraded to a business suite for £20.00 which was well worth it. Free drinks from 5 - 7 pm and free parking plus river and cathedral view.
Swimming pool had sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. All very clean and not busy.
Breakfast was superb.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MysteryTripMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2012

Thank you for your review of the hotel,
I hope you enjoyed your North East England road trip!
I am pleased that you enjoyed the location and I hope you dont leave it too long before you come and see us again
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,672)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,197 - 2,203 of 2,672 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2012

The Radisson Blu in Durham is a typical modern executive hotel. Rather impersonal and characterless. The car park (charges apply) is small and when I stayed I had to park half on the pavement and not in a designated bay.
There is often queue for reception, a nuisance when one wants to check in or pay the bill. Lifts are available to all floors but I prefer to use the stairs and was unable to locate them. Rooms are standard but comfortable enough and bathrooms adequate. The dining room is small and we had to wait with several other guests in a bar area for a breakfast table to become available. The breakfast itself was good.
Overall a reasonable but not exceptional hotel. Marginally more luxurious than budget alternatives. Central and convenient location.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanga1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2012

Thank you very much for your review of the hotel.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and our excellent buffet breakfast.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I have stayed a few times recently, usually arriving late and tired from the long rail journey from Kent.

The hotel is warm modern and friendly, with very helpful staff. Last time they opened the kitchen to provide me with a much needed sandwich when I arrived past 11pm.

The hotel has a good car park and is a short walk into the city across the river Wear, which runs past the front door.

I enjoy the breakfast which is well prepared and fresh - not alway easy when buffet style.

The hotel is bright and spotlessly clean too.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyblackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHollowayGM, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.
I am thrilled that you found the staff welcoming andd friendly and I hope that their sandwich making skills were up to par as well!?
I look forward to seeing you in Durham again soon
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed here for two nights. Husband and I decided on a short break to Durham and chose the Radisson over the Premier Inn....so glad we did.The Hotel is clean, Tidy and Modern. Bar not overly expensive ( £4 for a bottle of beer) but the draft stella tasted odd? We didnt eat in the hotel there are so many places just a short stroll over the bridge to choose from. The rooms are modern, clean and very comfortable, a little dissapointing that the air con was noisy but it didnt spoil our overall stay. We had a room overlooking the hotel carpark..very quiet location, slept like a log and i would request the same if we were to return. The reason why i prefered the Radisson over Premier Inn ( just over the bridge in front of hotel) is because the premier Inn's rooms at the back overlooked the Square where there are bars and restaurants, i would presume that these would have some noise issues as they bars are open late..but i suppose its a bit unfair as i didnt stay there, but sitting out the back of the slug and lettuce i could see the close proximetry of the rooms. One thing we did do every morning is walk the two mins to the Premier Inn for their breaskfast, what a bargain (hotel is £14.95 cooked/£9.95 continental)... hubby had the Premier, full cooked all you can eat plus anything you wanted from the continental section, £7.99 and Hubby said the food (cooked to order) was gorgeous. i just had the continental (£5.25) and there was a good selection of cereals, fresh fruit, yeo vally yoghurt, toast, crumpets, jams, pastry and mini muffins...no-one would go hungry. The pool at the hotel was a lovely perk, jacuzzi, aromatherapy steam room and sauna were all really nice and the treatments looked reasonable if you wanted.One big gripe is the parking charge, £6.50 a night, this puts me off booking a longer stay here, its a hotel you shouldnt charge to park in the car park. All in all though a really good stay which exceeded my expectations and i would cetainly book here again for the location alone.

Room Tip: although river view seems a nicer option there is a road that runs between that and the hotel, the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joemac32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2012

Thank you for your extensive review of the hotel
I hope to see you when your travels bring you back to the area
Reagrds
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I have just came back from staying in this hotel and would recommend it. Hotel is right on the river and we had lovely views of the cathederal and castle. Our room was Business Class for which apart from the usual dressing gown and shampoos, you also got free parking (£6.50 for overnight guests), free pay per view movies and also entry to the executive bar (ok its just the restaurant before it opens) from 5:30 - 7:00pm and all bottles beer, wine and soft drinks are free - ideal way to start your evening!
We chose go out for our evening meal and there was plenty of choice within walking distance.

Room Tip: ask for a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2012

Thanks for the review of your great night away!
It sounds likeyou had a great time and enjoyed the delights of Durham
I look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Radisson Blu in Durham for 2 nights. From the moment we pulled into the car park to the moment we left there was nothing we found to fault the hotel. We booked into the Filini Restaurant on the first night and the service, food and attitude of the staff was exemplary. The average age of the hotel staff is not very old but they all showed unbelievable maturity and obvious loyalty to the hotel. The food was very good although the menu was not too big with limited choice, but no complaints on that score as we both thoroughly enjoyed what we ordered. The rooms in the hotel are very good. We had a standard double room, which had everything including a flat screen TV with alot of digital channels. The shower was very good and simple to use. The hotel has a fitness suite and pool although we didn't have time to use them, which is a shame because people that we spoke to about them said they were very good. Adjoining the reception is The Bar, which is comfortable and relaxing with a good menu of snacks and hot food. Quite honestly The Radisson Blu Durham is an excellent hotel and we will certainly be staying there again when we next visit Durham, which in itself is an incredible city.

Room Tip: Our room faced the car park, but as an extra treat try and get one that faces the river. tunning vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TracyJDaveJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

family suite excellent,kids enjoyed it very much,also the pool large and clean.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann200844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,177 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
3 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range: $105 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing