We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,975)
Filter reviews
2,975 results
Traveler rating
1,247
1,127
404
131
66
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,247
1,127
404
131
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusiness classthe riverbusiness roomfree drinkscar parkcity centrestandard roommodern hotelacross the bridgegood sizemini barsauna and steam roomleisure facilitiesper nightexcellent hotelbars and restaurantspoached eggs
Filter
Updating list...
2,647 - 2,652 of 2,975 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Just had a weekend in the hotel and left very pleased with the facilities for the price that we paid, we had a standard room overlooking the car park to the rear and it was a good size, very clean and well furnished with a clean but compact bathroom.

The whole hotel had a well kept clean feel to it. If I was picky there were just a few points that needs to be improved on but none of which spoilt our stay in any way.

1. The receptionist never explained that you need to use the key card to operate the lift - it took us a few seconds to realise why the lift would not work.
2. They are very economic with the tea and coffee facilities in the room - only 2 of every item is provided so after one cup each thats your lot unless you get some more delivered.
3. Only 4 coat hangers per room - not enough for 2 people.
4. Breakfast at £15 each is far too expensive - we were a party of 4 and we went to the first floor cafe in the Durham indoor market and had 4 cracking cooked breakfasts with all the trimmings including drinks for £18, I know the hotel has higher overheads but not that high?
5. The hotel is not all that old and obvioulsy a small fortune was spent on plants for the garden areas but these planted beds are very poorly maintained and over run with weeds.

Overall a very nice place which we plan to return to.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireTraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2011

Thank you for your positive review of the hotel
Its good that we are not perfect yet as this then gives us something to strive towards
I have noted your comments and will be addressing them as appropriate
I look forward to seeing you again in Durham soon
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Went with my husband for 20th Anniversary. We were upgraded to business class by the hotel as a surprise. The Hotel is really luxurious and pride is taken by all members of staff . From checking in to leaving everyone was so helpful and lovely. I have never stayed any where in England as nice as this. I would definately reccomend this Hotel to any one. My husband and i will definately return and are hoping to persuade our Friends to stay overnight for our Christmas get together. Just want to say Thank you ever so much for a lovely time.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackier1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.
It was a pleasure to have you here for your anniversary and I look forward to seeing you here at Christmas
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Following the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor we booked a 2 night stay at the end of May. The hotel is in a superb position and first impressions are extremely good however the welcome we received from the female reception staff was anything but pleasant, I agree with the comments made by Heijmer, Oxted. The receptionist told us that our room was a standard with a double bed and asked if this was ok, we said that we would rather have a twin room, as mother and daughter we were happy to share a room would rather have separate beds. She looked on the computer and told us that she didn't have any twin rooms and waited expectantly so we also waited with a hope that she might find a solution. She reluctantly told us that we could go to our room and she would send someone up to seperate the beds, now why she couldn't have done this without making us feel like difficult customers i'm really not sure. She didn't tell us where our room was located, that we needed to use our room card to use the lift or that we needed a card to get out of the £6.50 per day car park. The room was a good size and very comfortable, tea/coffee facilities sparse, no shower gel, stains on bedding and only 4 hangers provided for two people. Health club facilities very good and proximity to Durham perfect. Some work required on the reception staff, a smile and a welcome would be much appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MollyX24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review here
As stated previously I would gladly put my reception staff up as some of the best that I have worked with as borne out by other positive reviews on here
I will be bringing this point up though in a reception meeting so make sure that all guests reciebe a positive stay in the hotel
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

What a shame, fantastic nearly new hotel, great location by river and very close to city centre and cathedral. Room was comfortable and well equipped but….

Gaining entry to the hotel was difficult on arrival on Sunday, the automatic revolving door was not operational and no sign to say push. There were two other doors, one electronically operated and one manual, but limited signage to advise to use them. The revolving door was still not operational when we left on Tuesday and the reception staff did not know the door was not working.

We left the room at 11:00 on the Monday morning and returned at 15:00, the room was not cleaned or made up. This was done after we left again at 16:30 but dirty glasses left in room. There appears to be a custom of leaving dirty plates and glasses outside rooms when they are cleaned and they seem to stay there until cleared up the next day – not a nice impression on arrival, there were 3 empty glasses outside our room on check-in and a used breakfast tray still there for the room across the corridor.

We had understood the hotel restaurant is not open on Sundays (check the website) so spent some time trying to find a restaurant in Durham before we arrived. We were told by the bar staff that evening the hotel restaurant was open as they had a lot of guests. This caused us to question where the management were and why nobody tried to offer us a meal for that evening, perhaps because the reception staff did not know the restaurant was open.

Breakfast on Monday morning can only be described as awful. Overworked staff therefore guests having to operate hot water boilers on their own to get tea/coffee and then carry that across a crowded and not very clean restaurant. Great sympathy for the 3 staff who were on duty but they certainly could not cope with a full restaurant. Did the hotel staff know they had a full hotel?

There is a strange rule regarding the car park, guests coming for dinner get the car park for free but those staying overnight are charged. We complained about this and got the car park fee refunded, we wondered if that would be the case if you had dinner charged to your room.

On checkout on Tuesday at 08:30 I asked if there was a manager or duty manager available to which the answer was no, that person had not come on duty yet. I believe the hotel represents this fact only too well.

In summary, hotel has a great location and is very comfortable but guests have to suffer poor service. This hotel does not represent previous experiences of Radisson Blu hotels we have used in the past and we would recommend potential users to consider this before booking. Come on Radisson, get your act together.

Room Tip: Ask for river view
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard_Whitwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2011

Thank you for your review
I am sorry that the hotel did not live up to your expectations this time
I have looked at all your issues and will be addressing them accordingly
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We booked a long weekend at this hotel and we enjoyed every moment. We booked a business class room which was very spacious, clean and modern. The room had all the facilities we required and was in a peaceful location overlooking the car park (not as bad as it sounds). We ate in the restaurant for breakfast and there was loads of choice available. We also ate there for dinner and the food was lovely and the waiter charming.
We used the gym, pool and beauty salon and again no complaints.
!00% satisfied with this hotel and would definitely go back (hopefully soon).
Thanks to all the staff for a wonder trip.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2011

Thank you so much for your positive review of the hotel!
For you to say that you want to come back soon means that we must have looked after you well and met your expectations. I am happy that it seems that you managed to use all the facilities in the hotel and enjoyed our extensive breakfast buffet
I look forward to welcoming you back to Durham very soon then
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews