We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,975)
Filter reviews
2,976 results
Traveler rating
1,247
1,127
404
131
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,247
1,127
404
131
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusiness classthe riverbusiness roomfree drinkscar parkcity centrestandard roommodern hotelacross the bridgegood sizemini barsauna and steam roomleisure facilitiesper nightexcellent hotelbars and restaurantspoached eggs
Filter
Updating list...
2,676 - 2,681 of 2,976 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2011

The Radiisson is a modern hotel a short walk from the centre. The rooms are a good size, clean and well equiped. Parking is convenient. The atmoshere is rather soulless. Room rates are good value and it is worth checking the hotel's website for deals.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2011

Thanks for the review here on Trip Advisor
I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel and I look forward to seeing you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave you are made to feel welcome and special at this hotel, and quite frankly I could not fault it. The room was immaculate, the breakfast was superb, and the service was outstanding. If you want your visit to Durham to be a memorable occasion, please look no further. We plan to visit Durham several times a year whilst our son is in university and we will not hesitate to book into this hotel everytime.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhughes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2011

Thank you so much for the reviw
I hope to see you many more times whilst you son attends our wonderful university
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We had to cut short our last visit due to the heavy snowfalls before Christmas and it was lovely to be back.
The reception staff give a masterclass in efficiency and service, as do the breakfast staff.
We had one of the best rooms in the hotel with an excellent view of the river, spacious accommodation and, as always, excellent bathroom facilities with large towels and luxury toiletries.
We had a problem with our TV not working and this was sorted by a maintenance engineer within minutes.
We dined in the hotel on a very busy night: the food was excellent and the staff friendly, despite there being too few on duty to cater for the number of guests.
The breakfast staff were friendly and efficient and exude an air of calm at all times.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittyginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2011

Thank you for reviewing us again positively
It means a lot to us when guests return because then you know that they really enjoyed the experience the firts time around
I look forward to welcoming you back a third time
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We stay in Durham 3 or 4 times a year to visit family and usually stay at the Marriott. I obtained a good deal on a business class room at £125 for a Saturday night which is cheaper than the Marriott so thought we would give it a go. The hotel is very modern, clean and new. The check in staff are very friendly and efficient and explained all of the facilities. We had plans for the evening so did not take advantage of the free drinks. We had drinks in the lounge later on and the bar staff were very friendly. The location is OK - about 15 minutes walk into the city centre so you feel a bit cut off. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. However, the breakfast was absolutely dreadful. Breakfast is served between about 7am and noon on a Sunday. We arrived in the dining room at around 9.30 and although there was plenty of choice, I think everything had been cooked at least an hour earlier as it was lukewarm and not very inviting to look at. We ate about half as it did not taste good. It would be much better if they cooked small batches of each item and keep topping it up with fresh. We did not bother with toast as you have to make your own but using a normal toaster rather than the usual rotating type you find in hotels, consequently there was a large queue. I had to seek out a member of staff to get a pot of tea and it was like dishwater - obviously, it had not been made with boiling water. When we checked out, we were not asked if everything had been OK. I would stay here again but only if I got a good deal and would choose room only. It is not a patch on the Marriott for location or quality of breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazydaisy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

My only complaint would be that we upgraded to executive level on the top floor for £129 b and b and we found it quite small for the price considering we were in quietest time of year. The sloping of the roof makes the room feel a little claustrophobic although it has everything you would need. Oh the bath was tiny too - only a three quarters size. I did mention this at reception as my husband is 6 foot but they said all the baths on the exec level were the same size. Also we only got one small shampoo, one small conditioner and one small soap - considering the toiletries were supposed to be super upgraded for the exec rooms I thought this was a bit mean.
The bar and the breakfast were good. Look out for the breakfast specials on a blackboard - we didn't see it until it was too late as it is small and perched near the silver platters containing already cooked food - but they had some nice sounding things.
We enjoyed our night in Durham and thought the little area of bars and restaurants just over the bridge were lovely. we ate at the Italian restaurant Ask and it was lovely.
I am still giving the stay a 4 star in general as the hotel was good - we just expected a little more from our upgrade.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2011

Thank you for your review of the hotel, you mentioned that you would have liked more for your upgrade, i think that it is tremendous value as the £40 it costs to upgrade includes complimentary breakfast and car parking, bathrobe and slippers, free movie in your room, upgraded toiletries, complimentary wine, beers and soft drinks in the filini bar between 17.30-19.00 and a larger bedroom.
I look foward to seeing you in Durham again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews