We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food OK, room awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lambton Hounds Inn
Ranked #36 of 40 Durham B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed for one night as we were meeting family from Durham for a meal and rather then drive home four of us booked 2 rooms to stay over - big mistake. Our room was so small the bed did not fit, it had to be put on a diagonal and there was hardly any room to get round. The bathroom had a sliding door and to be honest needed a complete overhaul. There was mould around the bath, on the tiles and was like going back in time 30 years.
The food was good however, the bar area is OK and the staff were friendly but are let down by the generally run down appearance of the rooms.
By all means go there for a drink or a meal but we would not recommend staying.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 134 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

I am from the local area and used to visit this pub regularly on Sunday walks with my family. It had been some time (5years?) since i had visited. Me and my boyfriend have recently moved back to the area so decided to go for a meal. We were offered a table almost immediately. The lasy who served us was very pleasent and attentive. We didnt have to wait long for food/drinks.
I ordered a pizza which was delicious! However I am a vegetarian and there wasnt much at all on the menu I would eat (Pizza or veg,lasagne) My boyfriend ordered Lasagne which came with chips and salad. He enjoyed the food but said the portion was very small. After dinner we sat in the lounge and had another drink. The atmosphere was nice and relaxing. Would go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rallyhead1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This B&B was probably the worst i have ever seen, the double room was that small that the bed had to be horizontal and there was no room for bedside tables, the bathroom door was a slide door that wouldn't close shut, there was mold all round the bath, on the tiles , in the overflow of the sink and on the ceiling, there were holes in the wall and it smelt very fusty, the bedside lamps which were on a small shelf were all broken and the inside of the kettle was disgusting. As for the full english breakfast it only consisted of egg, sausage, bacon and beans (no tomato, no mushrooms, no black pudding etc) the food was ok but the beer was cloudy and awful. They demand the payment before you have seen the room (no wonder really as if you saw the room first they wouldn't have anyone staying) The only nice thing i can say is the sheets were clean, but the bed was so uncomfortable with spring digging in us. The noise from the bar was loud and we didn't get any sleep at all. If we had any other place to go we would have gone. Will never go there again and will try and warn everyone else not to go. No toiletries. How it got 3 stars i have no idea.

Room Tip: The banister is loose and unsafe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Machaella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Having visited the North a few weeks earlier we decided we needed to return to finish visiting places we had missed first time round. The Inn is on the main bus route to Durham and the trip took about 15 mins into Durham Town Centre. The Beamish Living Museum was a 20 minute drive away. Other excellent castles, museums and the Pennine Range are within an hours journey. This Inn suited our purposes beautifully. We booked in for four nights b&b. The hotel is dated and could do with an update but on the whole it was clean, tidy, lovely local beer and great food both breakfast and evening meals. Our room was a nice size with a comfy bed, tv, double wardrobe and tea/coffee supplies. The bathroom was a good size with a shower over the bath. The owner and her brother were very friendly as were the staff. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for room number 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyoapessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We arrived to a small damp double room, no toiletries in the bathroom , all in all very old fashioned. The bar was no better, dark and dingy. There was a private party that night and we might as well have been at the party as the noise in our bedroom was unbelievable, we could not here our selves think. When we went down to complain the bar waiter said he only worked there and then walked away.

Brekfast was the worst I have ever eaten. My husband had the full english which arrived on a saucer. There was no menu, just a waitress who did not speak very good english and said
"what do you want" I asked for scramble egg and sausages, this arrived and the scramble egg was so watery it had spread all over the plate. We asked for a pot of tea for two which came with one tea bag and was like drinking water

The whole experience was like stepping back into the dark ages, there is a travel lodge down the road, I would stay there if i was you, its alot cheaper

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenp9644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Bought a living social voucher, but when I rang to book was told that - even though there were a few days before expiry I could not use the voucher as they were fully booked. When I questioned this the gentleman (who was quite rude at times) told me "these have been out for months and you should have used it before now" as it happens we have a new born and decided to use it once he was settled enough to be with us. The man then asked "well when did you buy the voucher" trying to force his point which I explained that was not the point and none of his business. He told me to ring the landlady who would be in at 6. I tried 3 further times to speak to her with no success, the third of these times being told "she's too busy to speak" so I twice left my name and number and she has not returned the call hence my review on here rather than trying to sort it out over the phone. I am now left with a useless and now out of date voucher. And as for being fully booked, seems strange when my friend rang to see about a table on saturday night he was told to turn up and it would probably be ok...if you do not have the capacity or desire to provide for these vouchers then do not allow living social to sell them. Shame as my Mam and Dad bought the same voucher and enjoyed their meal... No need for rude staff and not returning calls.

Stayed: August 2012
Thank FranzCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Two days work in the vicinity and I needed a comfortable, and as a woman travelling alone, safe place to stay; I found it here. The welcome was excellent, good parking, real pub, real beer (although not a beer drinker myself, I recognised the names on the taps!) good food, well cooked and served by smiling and helpful lady, a comfortable, if somewhat dated room, with a lovely bath as well as the shower. I had to leave too early to enjoy a breakfast, but, if the homemade pizza I enjoyed the night before was a typical example of the standard of food, then I missed a treat. On the downside, I asked for a single room, which would have been £38 including breakfast, but I didn't want breakfast as I had to leave too early to enjoy and was offered a discount. As they didn't actually have a single available I had to have a double at £40.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
4.1 mi away
Hallgarth Manor House
Hallgarth Manor House
#12 of 18 in Durham
53 reviews
2.1 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
544 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Spada Bed and Breakfast
5.1 mi away
Three Horseshoes Inn
Three Horseshoes Inn
#13 of 40 in Durham
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lambton Hounds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lambton Hounds Inn

Address: 62-64 Front Street | Pity Me, Durham DH1 5DE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range: $98 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lambton Hounds Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lambton Hounds is a traditional 250-year-old coaching inn situated in the village of Pity Me just outside Durham City Centre. We are a friendly and family-run local business with a welcoming and inviting atmosphere. Our traditional British pub offers local cask ales, a cosy fire place, a beer garden, a separate snug with sofas, a separate bar with pool table, darts board and juke box and plenty of North East charm. The star attraction of the lounge bar is that it is taken from the cocktail bar of RMS Olympic, sister ship of the Titanic. Brother and sister, James and Katy, have run this family business since 2006 and have overseen many changes and improvements to the old inn making the Lambton Hounds a perfect base to explore the riches of Durham and its surroundings. We provide the ideal location for a weekend break in the heart of the North East with many famous sights and tourist attractions on our doorstep. In addition, with a variety of great transport links very close by, we enable you with easy access to the North East's most famous tourist attractions: Durham Cathedral and Castle, Crook Hall and Gardens, Beamish Museum, National Railway Museum, Auckland and Bamburgh Castles, Diggerland, Adventure Valley and much more. We have a choice of eight rooms for visitors to choose from our traditional, cosy and comfortable coaching inn of over 250 years old. Rooms offer period characteristics and have en-suite facilities with a choice of bath or shower. Our Bed & Breakfast has a three star National Tourist Board rating and the rooms are equipped with LCD TV, Freeview, radio alarm clocks, tea making facilities and toiletries. The use of hairdryers and irons is available throughout. We also offer a free WIFI area. Breakfast is served everyday from 8:00 - 9:00. At the counter you will find a wide selection of cereals, yoghurts and fruit juice for you to help yourselves to. You will be served tea or coffee and toast, then a full English breakfast (or any variation). All this included in the room price. Check in time is from 4pm and check out time is 10:30am. Our friendly country style Pub comprises of 3 different sections: the lounge, snug and bar. The lounge features an open fire place and our star attraction, "the lounge bar" which is the ORIGINAL cocktail bar from the RMS Olympic, sister ship of the TITANIC. The snug is a quieter family corner of the pub with a feature fireplace, board games and comfortable leather sofas. The bar is a separate room for the adults which has a pool table, darts board, jukebox, projector and Itbox. It is a WIFI zone and is also used for our private catered functions, such as Birthday parties, Christenings, business meetings, funeral wakes, etc. We also host Live Music and themed parties in this room. We serve a wide selection of drinks, including a selection of local Real Ales, draught Lagers and Beers, a variety of bottled Ciders, Spirits, Single Malt Whiskies, Cocktails and soft drinks. We also boast a fantastic Beer garden, which blooms in the Spring and is perfect on a sunny afternoon. Our homemade traditional Tapas are very different to the ones you would find elsewhere. We pride ourselves on fresh and simple ingredients to produce the type of Tapa found in little Spanish bars across different Regions of Spain. From Galicia and Bilbao in the north, down to Granada and Sevilla in the South, we offer our customers an authentic variety of Tapas. Furthermore, our rotating "Especialidades de la Casa" will definitely give you a sample of the REAL SPAIN. Whatever your choice, sit back, relax and live like a local at The Lambton Hounds Inn. If you have any questions regarding your booking or any other of our services, please contact us by calling or e-mailing us and we'll get back to you as soon as possible. We look forward to hearing from you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lambton Hounds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lambton Hounds Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing