We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, comfortable and friendly bed and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moor End Guest House
Ranked #2 of 40 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2013

A great place to stay. Owners are helpful and friendly and leave you to get on with your day. Room was warm, cosy and comfortable and clean with plenty of towels. Breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice. Definately recommend a stay there!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 229 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

I was planning a solo trip to Durham and found Moor End via TripAdvisor. I emailed Debbie and Martin for some details as I'd be arriving pretty late in the evening: they said as pre-arranged this would be fine. Met on arrival by Debbie who was very welcoming even though it was near to 10pm!

Room was lovely and relaxing, decor bright but not fussy, breakfast was plentiful and very tasty, wide range of options (cereals, cooked breakfasts, hot drinks etc): met Martin serving breakfast who was as pleasant as Debbie. Coffee served in individual cafetieres, Martin even prompting me for some more (which I appreciated greatly!)

On departure I explained about a random channel-changing quirk on the TV in my room which Martin noted (was the first chance I'd had to explain so in fairness to Martin and Debbie no opportunity for them to do anything about it). I also highlighted that a surcharge for paying by card (listed on my invoice which I got on the first night) wasn't mentioned on their website: Martin took this with good grace, explained the reasoning for them having to levy the charge (short story it would seem to me the card issuers are price gouging!) - given all the outright positive points, and that when I raised some issues I was dealt with more than cordially would definitely recommend for anyone to stay at Moor End if they're in the area, and if I re-visit Durham I'll definitely have a look at staying there myself.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

A lovely place to stay. Clean, friendly, comfortable and great attention to detail e.g. Mention what kind of tea you like and the very next morning it's there...right down to the brand! Breakfasts are great too!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vancouverite B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had a perfect stay.
The rooms are really lovely, well furnished and clean; the breakfast was great and served in a delicious small lounge.
The owner is downright kind.
We will join this Guest House for sure as soon as we visit Durham again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cary_Grant_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé & I stayed at Moor End for a mini break for my birthday & had the most enjoyable relaxing time here. The rooms & decor are so quaint & charming and I've never been able to 'chill out' in a hotel as much as I did here. The hotel is well kept, clean & tidy with the most beautiful dining room & fireplace!! Debbie & Martin were fantastic, they were so accommodating & have great knowledge to share about Durham, where to go, where to eat etc. The best part of our stay had to be when Martin & Debbie offered to set a table up for us to eat a take away downstairs - but we came back to the most beautiful & romantic setting with our table laid out perfectly & the (real!) fire & candles lit. We have never had such a wonderful meal & this was definitely way above & beyond what we expected with no trouble at all. The breakfasts were fantastic - no greasy Joe's cafe here. This little charming guest house is a gorgeous find & run by a lovely couple who really know how to welcome you & make you feel at home. Most definitely recommended, great value & great location too :)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouLou8824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We booked into Moor End Guesthouse as a treat for my fiancées birthday. One evening we returned to find a birthday card from the owners accompanied by a bottle of wine and two glasses! Another evening we mentioned about getting a takeaway to bring back and were told there would be a table set up for us - not only was it laid with cutlery and glasses but ice in a bucket, a jug of water, and several silver curry dishes warmed by tea light candles!!

It exceeded our expectations, the owners are not too intrusive as you may expect from a 'guest house' of this size but at the same time they were very welcoming and friendly.

The room was fantastic, very clean and decorated to a tasteful standard. The breakfasts were very good with a great selection. Commuting into Durham could be a slight problem if you don't like paying for parking (same everywhere though!) & dont like buses - approx £7 each way in a taxi otherwise. That said, we are told of a regular bus service but we chose to drive in the daytime instead which only took 5 minutes. The disadvantage of staying bang in the centre would be restricted parking and the parking is readily available at Moor End.

All in all I'd highly recommend Moor End Guesthouse and it will be the first place I look at if we decide to return to Durham!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris11111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

A really lovely guest house owned by a genuine couple. We came up to Durham to visit our son who is at Uni but knew we couldn't arrive until 9:30pm. It was absolutely no problem for Martin even though it was a Friday night!! We stayed in the delightful Family room nestled at the top of the house. The full english breakfast was absolutely fantastic - so much, we didn't need lunch. Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank lufcsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
544 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
1.8 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,170 reviews
4.9 mi away
High View Guest House
High View Guest House
#1 of 2 in Brandon
37 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Town House Durham
The Town House Durham
#5 of 40 in Durham
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moor End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moor End Guest House

Address: Moor End House, Durham DH1 1BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range: $95 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moor End Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moor End Guest House has been awarded a 4 star rating by Quality in Tourism. It has two double en suite rooms, two twin en suite rooms and a family room for up to two adults and up to two well behaved children aged between 5 and 16 years old. It is located two miles east of the city centre, just off junction 62 of the A1(M), 5 mins drive from the city centre, 10 mins by bus or 30 mins walk. There is free car parking and a free electric vehicle charging point. The rooms have free WiFi, 26" flat screen freeview TVs and complimentary tea and coffee. Check in is strictly between 16.00Hrs and 19.00Hrs on day of arrival unless by prior arrangement prior to booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Moor End Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moor End House Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing