We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moor End Guest House
Ranked #2 of 38 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay!”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just returned from a lovely stay at Moor End. A Quaint Guest house managed by friendly, helpful staff. The rooms were decorated to a high standard, beds were comfy and room very cosy, like home away from home! Breakfast was lovely and staff were very accommodating. We ended up visiting Newcastle and Durham from here. Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    46
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
87
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
corby hill
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed for the one night, with a good friend of mine, with my 2 grand daughters aged 4yrs and 2 yrs, in a family room, at top of the house. Ample parking at back of guest house, via the next door public house entrance . Got a lovely welcome, and the room, a double and 2 single beds was just ideal, the room was lovely and cosy, everything was just what we wanted, it was lovely and clean, very, very warm,it being november, we had to turn down the radiators a degree or two and beds sooooo comfy, with lovely bedding. Bathroom was a shower, which was very hot and easy to use!!, towels were soft and toiletries were plentiful. T.V, great picture, kettle and all the tea/coffee etc bits were well stocked. Breakfast next morning was lovely, with everything you could wish for.

We loved the night here, and will stay again, if ever in the area. Lovely guest house, lovely room,lovely breakfast, lovely owners, THANK YOU XX

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank proudycorbyhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed just one night at this lovely guest house just ouside Durham in early September. We had driven round in the city looking for B&Bs but found none and were directed out to Belmont where we found Moor End House. The room and bathroom was very comfortable and clean with plenty of space - we were in one of the top floor rooms. The full English breakfast was brilliant - all we could eat and then some! The free wi-fi was an added bonus to book our next port of call in Northumberland. As suggested by Martin, we left our car in Belmont in the morning and took the bus into Durham to see the sights while leaving our car in the nearby pub car park. All in all, it was a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TillyJerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed were fortunate to stay at this lovely guest house last for 2 nights to see the Great North run.
We have stayed at many guest houses around the country in past years but none have come anywhere near the standard of Moor End and the genuine warm welcome and attention afforded to us by Martin and Debbie.
The accommodation which is just outside Durham city, about 5 minutes drive depending on time of day, is homely and lovingly designed, from the entrance hall, through to the dining room and bedroom.
Our en-suite bedroom was at the front of the property which looked out on the road which we did not find a problem as it isn’t a major road? The bed was comfortable, and the bedding crisp and fresh - but it’s all the other little touches around the room i.e. fluffy bundles of towels, ‘shabby chic’ heart decorations, room fragrances etc... that make you feel that little bit more special as guest.
Both breakfasts we had were superb and given that the guest house was full both days, the choice of breakfast, quality of the food and service was excellent!
The owners Martin & Debbie could not do enough for us to ensure our stay was a pleasant one. Martin is very knowledgeable about the area and tourist options for visitors to consider and Debbie even had warm scones and jam waiting for us when we got back from the Great North Run event, which as the weather had deteriorated during the course of the day, was a thoughtful and unexpected but welcome touch!
If you are thinking of visiting Durham or the surrounding areas you won’t go far wrong by booking into Moor End….. It’s an hidden treasure!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I recently stayed at Moor End Guest House for a week-end and had a thoroughly enjoyable time with my Son.

We were in the two top rooms and they were immaculately clean and comfortable.

The breakfasts were delicious and when we returned in the afternoon there were hot scones and home made jam delivered to our rooms, this thoughtful touch made out stay all the more special.

Nothing was too much trouble for Debbie and Martin and I would certainly not hesitate to recommend this beautiful Guest House to anyone and will certainly be returning in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Ten minutes outside of the beautiful City of Durham. Excellent bus service. A truly memorable st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoorEndGuestHouse, Owner at Moor End Guest House, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure having you and your son staying with us and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and visit to our beautiful city. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive comments and reassuring to us to know our guests have had a good stay. We strive to please. Look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Debbie & Martin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night in 2 rooms and found them slightly small but nicely furnished. Located on a main road which made it slightly noisy and it was inconvenient to Durham town centre requiring a 10 minute drive. Parking was in the pub next door which meant you had to carry bags through the carpark. The rooms had lots of little touches and the same with the breakfast room - loved the little boiled egg warmers!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew_Kellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoorEndGuestHouse, Owner at Moor End Guest House, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your review and it was a pleasure having you stay with us. We are sorry you found our location 'inconvenient', however our website and access statement clearly state we are two miles from the city centre. It is only a three to five minute drive depending on time of day into the centre of Durham. We are on a bus route which is advantagous to us and our guests. The bus from across the road takes 10 minutes into Durham. There are six guests houses closer to the centre of Durham but unlike us they do not have parking and as such all are inconvient for getting luggage from the car to the guest house. We advise all our guests to bring their luggage in prior to moving their cars round to our private car park at the rear of our property. We hope this didn't spoil your visit to our beautiful city and look forward to welcoming you back to Moor End Guest House. Kind regards, Debbie & Martin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Finished our North East odyssey with two nights at Moor End. Parking is available in the adjacent pub (slightly apprehensive about being next to a pub but there were no problems with noise). The interior decor has scented candles, schmaltzy signage & dangling doorknob decorations. Stayed in top floor room but couldn’t get the wi-fi (apparently the only room which can’t); this was the family room with double and single beds. Was in the eaves so care when getting into bed and for a man when using the toilet! Bathroom had very small sink and nowhere to put wash bags. Breakfast was very tasty and plentiful. The host was very helpful. Moor End is located a couple of miles out of town but access is easy by car or bus. Note that credit card or cheque payments carry a £2.50 admin charge which is a bit miserly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.8 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
4.8 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,046 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 19 in Durham
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moor End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moor End Guest House

Property: Moor End Guest House
Address: Moor End House, Durham DH1 1BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moor End Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moor End Guest House has been awarded a 4 star rating by Quality in Tourism. It has two double en suite rooms, two twin en suite rooms and a family room for up to two adults and up to two well behaved children aged between 5 and 16 years old. It is located two miles east of the city centre, just off junction 62 of the A1(M), 5 mins drive from the city centre, 10 mins by bus or 30 mins walk. There is free car parking and a free electric vehicle charging point. The rooms have free WiFi, 26" flat screen freeview TVs and complimentary tea and coffee. Check in is strictly between 16.00Hrs and 19.00Hrs on day of arrival unless by prior arrangement prior to booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Moor End Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moor End House Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing