We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Victorian Town House
Ranked #1 of 40 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorks
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Just returned after a lovely weekend in Durham. One of the highlight of which was The Victorian Town House. We were made to feel very welcome and that nothing was to much trouble.

Our room the Flambard room was superbly decorated, clean and very comfortable. Every detail was attended to. The view from the window was wonderful over looking the viaduct and the Cathedral, which was even more dramatic in flood light.

The breakfasts were wonderful, the Salmon and Scrambled Egg muffins are a must!

Thanks to Jill and Andy for a wonerful stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazy_Sunshine41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
254
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

This B&B ticks all the boxes. The welcome is warm. My room was well-decorated, well-appointed, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The location is incredibly convenient for exploring Durham by foot and there are countless places to eat within 7 or 8 minutes' walk. The house has some nice Victorian features but also manages to feel "spruce" and vaguely contemporary at the same time. The breakfast is superb.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WinkfieldBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Located in a residential part of Durham, quite near the railway station and a 10 minute walk (uphill) to the Cathedral, the Victorian Town House occupies a convenient spot, with its own car parking space. On street parking is limited, but your hosts will provide a parking permit at a nominal charge.
We were in Durham for our son’s graduation. We were warmly welcomed by Jill on arrival (greeted by our first names, which was a nice touch) and taken to our rooms. Rooms were clean, bright, airy and spacious and had excellent bathrooms. Comfortable beds & well appointed rooms with everything you could wish for, including up to date magazines to read.
We enjoyed a good night’s sleep: apart from some train noise until 11 PM (it is quite nice to watch the trains on the viaduct over the leafy park!) the location is very quiet at night.
Breakfast is served in a homely dining room, which is so different from the crush and queues so often found in larger hotels. There is an excellent cold buffet, with fresh fruit, cereals, breads etc. Andy took our orders for a super hot breakfast, which was freshly cooked and featured very tasty local produce.
Andy & Jill’s attention to customer service is first class and they succeed in making you feel at home and a welcomed and a valued guest. Well done.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TandJLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Three of us stayed one night in the Beaumont room - it was a large room on the main floor with a double bed, pull-out couch and a private bath. The house is lovely, very nicely decorated. The room was cozy and comfortable, quiet, there was lots of room for three of us to get around, the sofa was made up into a bed when we arrived. There was a beautiful view of the garden out back. The bathroom was roomy, clean and everything worked.
Our hosts, Andy and Jill, were very nice and friendly, and gave us lots of tourist information, including restaurant recommendations. They also let us leave our car in the parking spot (there is only one) the next day until after noon, so we could visit the cathedral and other sites in Durham before moving on to our next destination. All the sights are within easy walking distance - the cathedral is just a few blocks away. It's hilly, but we didn't find it a problem at all.
We had a good breakfast and enjoyed the cheery dining room on the first floor. Some fresh fruit would have made the breakfast even better.
The only thing we didn't like - which had nothing to do with the B&B or Andy & Jill - was the town itself on a Saturday night - it was dirty and there was a large, rowdy, drunken crowd of young people spilling out of the bars and into the streets in the early evening. Also, the restaurants were all full and we had to wait over an hour to get in anywhere. That being said, we had a delicious meal and made it back to the B&B without incident. The next morning, the streets were much quieter as we made our way up to the cathedral!
We would love to come back for a longer visit, as there is lots to see in the area. We would definitely stay at this charming B&B again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calgarytraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2010

I didn't think that I would make it to Durham in early December 2010 because of the freezing snowy weather but I did and I'm so glad I stayed at the Victorian Town House. Andy & Jill offered me a very welcome cup of tea and scrummy fruit cake on my arrival and kept me right about getting about Durham. I was there to do some family history research so was able to walk up to the Record Office, as well as easily wander down into the town. I stayed two nights in the Langley room which was ideal and the piece de resistance was the hot water bottle provided - they've thought of everything!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pem243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
est1174
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2010

We came yesterday and got stuck in the snow and Andy helped dig us out, gave us a cup of tea to calm our nerves and pointed us in the direction of the cathedral where our daughter was singing in a concert. It is a short few minutes walk to the cathedral, the location is quiet, the room was v comfortable and breakfast just right. We have stayed in other places in Durham but been disturbed by noise - this was great and the welcome very warm. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank est1174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2010

A very warm welcome on a snowy afternoon following our short journey from the railway station. A pot of tea, some cake and some readily provided advice about the local area made us feel at home. The rooms are comfortable,clean and tastefully decorated. The food is excellent with a wide variety of choice. Gill and Andy work well as a team and they deserve the many supportive comments of their guests. We are very pleased to add our positive praise and to recommend a visit to this special place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenthomas01384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,079 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
3.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victorian Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Town House

Property: The Victorian Town House
Address: 2 Victoria Terrace, Durham DH1 4RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victorian Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Town House, renovated to a high standard, is set in the heart of the World Heritage site of Durham's majestic cathedral and castle. It is only a five-minute walk from train station and city centre. It holds four star accreditation with Gold Award from Visit Britain. In addition it holds a breakfast award and Taste Durham award indicating the quality of its breakfasts using locally sourced ingredients. It provides stylish accommodation with panoramic views of Durham cathedral, castle and park. Twin, Family and Double rooms are available, providing luxury en-suite accommodation in a mixture of traditional elegance and contemporary style. Limited off-street parking is available. Wi-fi available free of charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Victorian Town House Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing