We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Victorian Town House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Victorian Town House
Ranked #1 of 39 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Perfect accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Perfect hosts, perfect room, perfect breakfast and perfect location. Wonderful place to stay for exploring Durham. A short walk from the station( a little hill) and a short walk to town, cathedral and castle. A nice pub nearby for an evening meal. An easy bus trip to Beamish outdoor museum. The hosts provide helpful information about local attractions.Highly recommended.We will stay there again next time we are in the area.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
75
247
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at this guest house in Durham. Very friendly and helpful hosts. The guest house was lovely and warm, clean and inviting.
Huge choice to choose from for breakfast (best we have ever had from a B&B/guest house)....only a short stroll to Durham centre.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna04_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Victorian Town House in Durham; we had the Langley room on the ground floor. What a delightful place to stay - a contemporary look to an older house. We travelled by train and the B & B is but a stone's throw from Durham station. The room was very clean and tidy and well appointed - and quiet - so quiet! With Andy in hospital, Jill was running the show on her own and coping wonderfully. Breakfast was a delight - whatever we wanted! Jill was really flexible with arrival/departure arrangements - we were able to drop suitcase off ahead of checking in time and leave it there until we were ready for the journey home. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank totber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We,ve just enjoyed a three night stay at the Victorian Townhouse. We stayed in the Beaumont room which was clean comfortable and had a really good shower. This is a lovely interesting building and Andy was most welcoming and we felt very much at home. Breakfast were really good with a great choice. The centre of Durham was only a short walk and we enjoyed a good variety of restaurants within walking distance.
We would recommend this guest house to others and would definitely stay here if we return to Durham in the future.g

Room Tip: Beaumont room was spacious with fab shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacpoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrewshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

It was easy to choose this B&B with all the excellent reports, and we certainly weren't disappointed. Received a very warm welcome, with offers of help with luggage, parking, restaurants etc, then went to the Flambard room - beautiful room, fully equipped, perfect in every respect. Next morning we had a terrific cooked breakfast - everything cooked to perfection and delicious. Its in a great location, only downside is limited parking but permits are provided. On the strength of our glowing report, our daughter e-mailed a request for availability but after 36 hours without reply, she booked elsewhere - which was disappointing.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms, but all are terrific - lots of detailed info on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renfrewshire_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Found this excellent B & B via Tripadvisor. Although it was our first trip to Durham we knew that parking is an issue. However, this lovely presented accommodation provides limited off road parking as long as you book in advance. We pulled up and Andy was out to greet us, help with the luggage and settle in to the Beaumont Room. The room is large, well appointed with large flat screen TV that has many digital channels including radio channels. The ensuite is very nicely decorated and has a large walk-in shower.
The hosts - Andy and Jill - were very helpful and willingly booked me a taxi to get to the relevant University building. I think it was a 15 minute walk to that particular college but it was a lot more relaxing being driven and only took 5 minutes, costing under £5.
The breakfasts were superb, a good range of freshly cooked meals that Andy and Jill were more than willing to adapt to personal preferences.
Since my partner is a vegetarian we found that for evening meals the Thai Central had a good range of appropriate dishes and were freshly cooked and very tasty. In fact we ate there on both nights of our stay.
The Town House is near the Railway Station and only a short walk into the town centre.
In summary:
Excellent accommodation
Superb location
Fantastic hosts
Greta value for money

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobsterH7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Very comfortable, good service, good breakfast, well located. Was pleased with my choice. We were able to walk from the station, to the cathedral, and to the bus station plus a walk out of town
and also to restaurants

Room Tip: Good room & an excellent breakfast in an excellent location
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithR1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.7 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victorian Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Town House

Property: The Victorian Town House
Address: 2 Victoria Terrace, Durham DH1 4RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victorian Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Town House, renovated to a high standard, is set in the heart of the World Heritage site of Durham's majestic cathedral and castle. It is only a five-minute walk from train station and city centre. It holds four star accreditation with Gold Award from Visit Britain. In addition it holds a breakfast award and Taste Durham award indicating the quality of its breakfasts using locally sourced ingredients. It provides stylish accommodation with panoramic views of Durham cathedral, castle and park. Twin, Family and Double rooms are available, providing luxury en-suite accommodation in a mixture of traditional elegance and contemporary style. Limited off-street parking is available. Wi-fi available free of charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Victorian Town House Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing