We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Victorian Town House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Durham
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (415)
Filter reviews
415 results
Traveler rating
399
13
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
399
13
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeaumont roomflambard roomb bblack pudding stackperfect hoststea and caketrain stationfriendly hostsbreakfast was deliciouson arrivalthe en suite bathroomcity centreshort walkdurham cathedralset us up for the daybed and breakfastsingle room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
212 - 217 of 415 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Very welcoming, Flambard Room was excellently furnished and comfortable. Great tasty quality breakfast. Andy and Jill was very helpful with advice about local information. Helpful to be able to leave our luggage with an early arrival and late departure. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spikejessop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I stayed at The Victorian Town House by myself, in a single. The room was cozy and comfortable, perfect for one, and I believe a good value. Breakfast was superb! And just enough interaction with the other guests so I knew I wasn't alone. Most importantly though, is the hospitality, Jill and Andy are wonderful hosts in a delightful little city.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
Thank kml1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in the Flambard Room. We loved it! It was beautifully furnished and very comfortable. Amdy and Jill are so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Even the sun shone making it a perfect week.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for one night in the Flambard room, whilst visiting the University. We were fortunate that the 2 night minimum stay was waived due to only one night being available. The location is great; walking distance from the station and town in a lovely quiet road. The room was immaculate and overlooked the garden; with wifi, tea/coffee facilities, an iron and toiletries. Jill and Andy were lovely hosts and breakfast was a veritable feast! We were able to leave our luggage during the day and the ease of dropping back the key meant we made the most of our "lightening" trip. Not sure yet if our daughter will be studying in Durham but will definitely being staying at the Victorian Town House if she does!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the Flambard room in the Victorian Townhouse and could not fault it. The room was well appointed and had everything you could wish for. The hosts Jill and Andy were very friendly and welcoming and went out of their way to make our visit special. I would recommend the Victorian Townhouse to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews