We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for your trip to Durham”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This hotel is right in the heart of Durham with 2 car parks minutes form the door. The hotel staff are excellent and the rooms are large and very modern. Everything about the rooms is excellent, they are clean, warm and comfortable with large flat screen tv with superb picture quality. The restaurant was pleasant and food reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,607)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Durham City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

949 - 955 of 1,607 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

If you are thinking about a short stay in a small(ish) city, head for Durham.
I was extremely impressed even though I know Durham quite well having worked in the area (based in Newcastle) for many years, but this was the first time we had stayed there. The weather helped. It was February and the south was in turmoil with the floods etc and this did make the River Wear quite dramatic. The city is small enough to walk all over and has lots of "things to do".
If you want to stay in the centre then the Premier Inn City Centre Hotel is the place to book. Cheap for City Centre hotels. Amazing value for money. Good parking with a multi-storey behind for longer stays and a public one opposite the reception for an overnight stay. The staff at the hotel were great and despite an extremely large building construction immediately opposite, the triple glazing worked a treat. To be honest it was a Sunday night that we stayed so maybe it might be slightly more busy mid-week but that's only temporary. .

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaktfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is a really great hotel to stay in in the centre of Durham. We have stayed twice in six weeks and we had a great experience both times. First of all it's in a great location. It's easy to find, at least on foot, and is only 10 minutes walk from the train station. Everything in Durham centre itself is within walking distance from it. The staff are all lovely. The hotel is very clean and everything in there looks new. The rooms are a good size and well furnished. The bed is comfy and you get a choice of pillows. The breakfast is very good and the dinner menu was well-priced and offered a good range of options. There's a bar and Costa coffee for sale, too. And to top it off, the price is very low, especially if you book well ahead.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 60degreesnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Very convenient for city centre and good value for money when we stayed. Staff were helpful and the range of food at breakfast is good value for money. Size of bedroom and the bed was excellent. Must see Oriental Museum.


  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomhanks776616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was nice and clean. Rooms were spacious, lovely tv and comfy bed. Friendly and helpful staff. Location brilliant for the centre and quiet inside and out of the hotel. First time staying overnight in Durham and will be sure to stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Gemma2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

A group of us went for a weekend with the main focus being a walk up the beautiful waterfalls - High Fore was spectacular! We decided to stay in Durham and were very pleased with our choice. Plenty of decent beer for the Chaps and a Champagne bar for the ladies!. We ate out at two restaurants and were pleased with both.
TOOK A WALK UP TO THE CATHEDRAL ON SUNDAY AND IT WAS "AWESOME" AS OUR AMERICAN FRIENDS WOULD SAY!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesca50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This hotel is located in an area full of trendy bars and restaurants. It has a multi story carpark directly behind it and they offer a discount if you get your ticket stamped before you leave, which works out at £7.70 for a full 24 hours. The bar and breakfast area is one of the nicest I've come across in a Premier inn. The breakfast was lovely and had very attentive staff. Overall a great stay and I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.3 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,117 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 18 in Durham
436 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Address: Freemans place | Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
#3 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: $73 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Durham, home to the World Heritage Site of Durham Castle and Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Durham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham City Centre Hotel Durham
Durham Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing