We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I was staying there to visit family and am glad I didn't have to stay in my room for too long.
I wasn't expecting lots due to how cheap it was to stay there but expected a bit more than what I had.
I was in a double room but could not sprawl across the bed as it was 2 singles attached together and the mattresses were unequal which was uncomfortable.
My bathroom smelt of urine which wasn't very appealing and every time I walked past I could smell it.
It was good value if your not fussed by what I put above.

Room Tip: Don't go in room 204
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandomChlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Durham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that our hotel did not meet your expectations on this occasion . Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated by the Management Team at this hotel. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,609)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Durham City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,145 - 1,151 of 1,610 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here on a very snowy January Friday night whilst visiting our daughter who is a student at Durham University. The room was clean, warm and comfortable with a nice ensuite bathroom. The staff were welcoming,helpful and very pleasant and there was secure, covered parking close by. Although close to all the nightlife of the city (and there was obviously a stag night party staying in the hotel too) we heard no noise during the night. We didn't breakfast in the hotel as we went to meet our daughter, so can't comment on the food.
It cost £29 for our room which we booked online and I feel this was very good value.

Room Tip: The rooms are colour coded by the hotel as regards the likelihood of being disturbed by noise from c...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfusdumbledog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here on 20/21st January 2013 on a 2 day visit to Durham. On arrival we found the hotel well located and only a five minute walk to the city centre.
The reception staff were friendly and we were allocated a quiet room to the side of the hotel away from the main street. There was car parking available to the rear of the building in a multi storey car park at a charge of £7.50 per 24 hours.Good value.
The room was very clean and peacefull and a good nights sleep was enjoyed. We enjoyed premier breakfasts in the hotel in comfortable surroundings. The breakfasts were cooked to order and represented great value. Staff in bar area very efficient.
2 minutes walk from hotel was a selection of bars and eateries to suit all tastes. No need for taxis or buses as city centre close by.
Having booked this hotel in advance we got a room rate of £29.00 per night which was excellent value for money.
Would stay here again and would recommend this hotel for a comfortable and affordable stay for a Durham visit

Room Tip: Room to side of hotel are quieter
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

stayed here 6th jan with my husband for our wedding room. room was nice, bathroom a bit dusty but this would be its only fault. right near bars and restaurants and gala theatre/cinema. breakfast was fantastic for the money. we had premier breakfast which was cooked and continental. lovely selection of continental buffet and drinks which you help yourself to and you order cooked breakfast seperatly, the veggie sausages were wonderful :) would definatly stay here again :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iluvmababyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

booked here during christmas period for me and my partner; excellent location right on top of resturants bars and shops so no taxis required :). The room was lovely and clean and all facilities within excellent plus all staff were very friendly. Even though this hotel is right in the centre we had a very good night sleep and wasnt disturbed by any noise from outside.The only extra cost you will need is for parking which cost us an expensive £7.00. Breakfast was really nice at a fab price too for what you got. Over all would reccomend to a friends as ideal!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mudd33call
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had a good stay here midweek,room clean and comfortable as usual although a little bit too warm couldn't! seem to control the heat setting.Location central for the city centre nice shopping and good walks.Car parking discount if you ask to validate your ticket at reception.would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 533jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed here on business on a Thursday evening and found this hotel up to the usual very high Premier Inn standards. The location is great, a 10 minute (steep walk) to the station, and minutes from the beautiful city centre. The staff were very friendly and efficient and the breakfast was fine. I had a great nights sleep and as always the premier inn bed was very comfortable. I would certainly stay here if I was coming back whether for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PWD40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.3 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,118 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 18 in Durham
436 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Address: Freemans place | Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range: $75 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Durham, home to the World Heritage Site of Durham Castle and Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Durham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham City Centre Hotel Durham
Durham Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing