We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent nights sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Travelled from Wiltshire to attend my sons graduation in Durham. Had a friendly welcome,good nights sleep and felt secure as travelling alone. Everything I needed and set me up for a long day and long journey back. Will use again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunSeeSand_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,672)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,217 - 1,223 of 1,673 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

I regularly stay at this Premier Inn as it close to my family. I have made numerous visits to this Premier Inn and I amazed by the number of staff who remember me on each return visit I make. Even the newer members of staff who do not know are always extremely friendly and kind towards to me.

Andrea the breakfast lady always make time for me, and I can also see that she always gives good customer service to all guests who stay at the Premier Inn. Chris on reception is another member of staff who remembers me and she also gives good customer service to all guests who stay at the Premier Inn.

I have made two visits to this Premier Inn over the recent Christmas / New Year break. On both occasions one being Christmas Day and the other being New Years Day I was allowed to check in early well before the standard 2pm check in time as they had rooms free.

I have to say all the staff at this Premier Inn are asset to the brand and will always put the customer first. This is a great Premier Inn to stay at.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank westward01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights visiting our daughter who was in panto at the Gala theater. This hotel is in a great location, next door to the theater and has many restaurants and bars around it and within easy walking distance. We went by train and felt we really didn't need a car.
Hotel itself was spotless, the staff were very helpful and friendly. We ate in the restaurant on one of the evenings and the food was very good. Breakfast was very good value for money.
Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed 1 night at Durham City Centre Premier Inn while taking our son back to University.

excellent service and good quality room and breakfast - superb value for money.
staff were very friendly and helpful - keen to give advice on local points of interest etc

location is superb - right in city centre

Room Tip: ask for 4th floor - no noise from street at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alberino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed here for a night 3rd Jan - excellent value for money £19 room & really central. Parking in multi storey good value £7.50 - you must get your ticket validated at the hotel reception to get at the reduced rate - Great night sleep - Will definately stay here again in the near future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aljipatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel is well positioned within easy reach of Durham town centre and some lovely pubs and restaurants. The bed was very large and comfortable. The room was spacious and clean. As we booked well in advance, the price was great. Although we did not use the dining facilities, it was good to know that we had that option. The only things that could be improved was the price of the parking (£7.50 for 24 hours) and the fact that we were given the wrong postcode on our automatic text update.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScruffMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Ideal location for exploring Durham. Staff were friendly and helpful. There was some noise on a morning as we were on the ground floor next to the delivery area but you expct this in a city centre location. One negative was the breakfast, the bacon was rubbery, eggs under cooked, sausages over cooked and greasy mushrooms a good cup of tea though and the continental selection was a better option. We would stay again but not have breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingbazzas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.3 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,177 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
454 reviews
3 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Address: Freemans Place Walkergate | Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
#3 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: $70 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Durham, home to the World Heritage Site of Durham Castle and Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Durham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham City Centre Hotel Durham
Durham Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing