We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zenas Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Zenas Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Nothing beats a touch of local flavour, especially when it comes to our food. Our produce is sourced from local producers and suppliers, so you'll see only the freshest food makes it to your plate at The Courtyard.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Reviewed 4 April 2013
Have just visited The courtyard (again) for a light lunch, under £10 per head with a glass of red wine, Stefan the charming head waiter always adds to the pleasure of the meal and is worth his weight in gold for any restaurant, Waiters like Stefan are all too rare in todays world. The food at Zenas has never disapointed us...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Defiantly go again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I was recommend by a friend to go there and I love it . All the foods I like , reasonably priced , excellent service by the team . I know how hard it can be , looking forward to the refurb and I hope this restaurant has a great summer .
Ps . Keep a good stock if Camembert :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RestmanagR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great spot for a celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Visited last night with about 30 colleagues to thank them all for a great year. Everybody loved the atmosphere, the great service and a really nice balanced menu. Some great food, everybody loved the presentation of each dish. The Sea Bass was a great success! The volume of emails today from colleagues who had a great time would indicate that Zenas was a great success!! I know I will innately visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Napoleon W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Another delightful lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Have just visited Zenas (again) for a light lunch, under £10 per head with a glass of red wine,
Stefan the charming head waiter always adds to the pleasure of the meal and is worth his weight in gold for any restaurant, Waiters like Stefan are all too rare in todays world.
The food at Zenas has never disapointed us , there is ample choice of dishes cooked to order and at prices to surprise you.
Cant wait to return, next time you are in Barnstaple at lunchtime treat yourself.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ronald s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Moules Fritte - my favourite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Really good place for lunch, with good, simple food. Good atmosphere, good service, excellent moules.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tawviewers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zenas Restaurant also viewed

Fremington, Barnstaple
Fremington, Barnstaple
 
Muddiford, Barnstaple
 
Sticklepath, Barnstaple
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing