We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Inn Public House

New Inn Public House
Ranked #1 of 137 Restaurants in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $21
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: You are closer than you think to wonderful home cooked food, great ales and fantastic company. Justin and Julia look forward to welcoming you to the friendliest of village free houses in rural Goodleigh, North Devon. We specialise in high quality home cooked pub fare, with traditional British favourites offered alongside exotic dishes from further afield. Relax in charming surroundings whilst sampling well kept ales that have had us listed in the Good Beer Guide for 3 years running. If you like trying something different our menu board is always changing to incorporate seasonal local meats, fish and vegetables. We can accommodate all needs, from a romantic table for two, family parties, or just about anything you had in mind.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We only found this pub by reading the excellent reviews here on tripadvisor, and we're very glad we decided to book. A lovely pub, with good beer, excellent food and above all wonderful customer service. This is a locals pub, but we were made to feel at home and very comfortable.
If you are not familiar with the area though(although not far out of Barnstaple, I missed the turn off in the dark - the roads are pitch black), a sat nav might be useful. In fact I got completely lost and wouldn't have found the place without it! However, next time we are in barnstaple, will definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IVAN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    29
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Wow what a place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We spent copious amounts of time searching for somewhere to eat on the last night of our holiday in North Devon. When I had a brain wave. Tripadvisor!? And what can I say? the atmosphere, food, locals, owners and value for money were fantastic. They even made out 10 month old feel really welcome. Next time we holiday as a family in Devon we will be sure to visit again. Thanks to all at the New Inn

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJMJJM, Owner at New Inn Public House, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thankyou all for visiting our Pub, and for taking the time to review. We very much appreciate it. We look forward to being of service to you in the future, however we will be closed from Thursday 24 October to Monday 4 November inc' as Chef is on holiday. Sorry for any inconvenience. Look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“amazing, friendly, delicious.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were down in Goodleigh for a few days and we ate here twice. Amazing food that was so delicious and we had a very warm welcome from the landlords. Owners were very hospitable and couldn't do enough for their customers (even cooking to order if you really fancy something not normally on the menu).

Never been made so welcome in a local village pub. Thank you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneDuncan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, fun evenings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have just got home from a weeks stay in Goodleigh, well in fact we stayed two doors away from the New Inn. We arrived last Saturday and popped into the pub on the off chance of a table. They were fully booked, but if we could eat straight away, they would fit us in. We had a lovely meal, therefore booked a table for Sunday night, so not to miss out.
This evening proved great, not only for the brilliant meal, but we had such a laugh with Julia, Justin and the locals. In the end we ate in the New Inn five out of seven evenings.
We were invited to play table tennis by the locals and on thrusday evening one of our party, did infact play.
Nothing was too much trouble, even though there is a very comprehensive menu, Julia is always happy, if possible to supply other dishes. Therefore on friday evening two of our party had Sea Bass especially souced and cooked. Not many pubs will do that these days.
All in all a great pub to eat in and hopefully we will revisit in the future. Such a shame its not closer to home.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JCK80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Never fails to impress”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Another lovely meal at our favourite North Devon pub! We have returned here half a dozen times or so since our first visit, and each time we have received a lovely welcome and a great plate of home cooked food. This time we went for supreme of chicken witha stiton and walnut sauce, and a steak and kidney pie. Both were delicious, generous and accompanied by excellent service. If you havn't tried this pub for a meal yet, you don't know what you are missing!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeHunter68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Inn Public House also viewed

 
Barnstaple, Devon
 

Been to New Inn Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing