We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food and atmosphere”

New Inn Public House
Ranked #1 of 140 Restaurants in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: You are closer than you think to wonderful home cooked food, great ales and fantastic company. Justin and Julia look forward to welcoming you to the friendliest of village free houses in rural Goodleigh, North Devon. We specialise in high quality home cooked pub fare, with traditional British favourites offered alongside exotic dishes from further afield. Relax in charming surroundings whilst sampling well kept ales that have had us listed in the Good Beer Guide for 3 years running. If you like trying something different our menu board is always changing to incorporate seasonal local meats, fish and vegetables. We can accommodate all needs, from a romantic table for two, family parties, or just about anything you had in mind.
Aldridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had a fabulous meal here on Saturday, the lady chef was very entertaining and went through the menu extolling the virtues of all the choices. The quality and taste of the food was excellent and we were really surprised by the really competitive prices...highly recommended

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    31
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“re-visit”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

as first time was very good we decided to come back we booked a table for 4, all enjoyed the meal, good landlord/landlady, great beer great value food was very nice , will come back

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank c n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“return visit.”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

we returned to the pub for another meal.And I must say we were not let down.A fantastic range of courses on offer.Great friendly service,and the food was excellent.A fair chance we will make a 3rd visit soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mark l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Totally surprising”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

If you are put off by appearance, don't go. If you are looking for a comprehensive menu where every choice is a winner, this is your place. If you don't go you will always regret missing a fabulous meal in a down-to-earth setting. With reasonable prices be prepared to order every course to gain full benefit without breaking the bank. Even the locals use this as a gathering place so you will have an evening of lively discussion. The husband/wife team are friendly, open and fun to chat with and are only concerned that your choices will exceed any expectation you have. Go and be surprised. Also, try reverse into the car park and you will receive their admiration.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter_koch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely no complaints”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We too stayed at the Landmark property in Goodleigh and took the hint about booking. In a week we had an evening meal on three occasions, the last one on the last night of our stay when Julia and Justin fulfilled our special request for venison which Julia cooked on our arrival with blackberries picked by herself that afternoon. I just wish they would move to Dorset! We can only repeat the well deserved sentiments of the other reviewers - if you are in the area you must make a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Inn Public House also viewed

 

Been to New Inn Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing