We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

New Inn Public House
Ranked #1 of 141 Restaurants in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: You are closer than you think to wonderful home cooked food, great ales and fantastic company. Justin and Julia look forward to welcoming you to the friendliest of village free houses in rural Goodleigh, North Devon. We specialise in high quality home cooked pub fare, with traditional British favourites offered alongside exotic dishes from further afield. Relax in charming surroundings whilst sampling well kept ales that have had us listed in the Good Beer Guide for 3 years running. If you like trying something different our menu board is always changing to incorporate seasonal local meats, fish and vegetables. We can accommodate all needs, from a romantic table for two, family parties, or just about anything you had in mind.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

You won't be disappointed. Great food, great service every thing was just brilliant. We Will most definitely be back to try some of the other items on the menu as they were all very tempting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    33
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great homemade food”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were welcomed and made to feel very much at home.Lots of choice and one of our party was a veggie who was given a wide range of choice for a meal.Strawberry cheesecake is the best I have ever had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Found this restaurant through the fabulous reviews on trip advisor.. A hidden little gem, the service is impeccable, very friendly, child friendly, superb home cooked food. I recommend going hungry because the portions are very generous.. I also thoroughly recommend the Cod special.. Very scrumptious! But leave space for the homemade puddings :) book so you are not left disappointed. Tiny downside is if you have noisy toddlers its very small so best to go early so as not to disturb the locals ;)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky0577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant and friendly”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Very nice food kind and friendly staff and the prices are fantastic! Food selection is good for everyone

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A_stone89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Again fantastic!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend the food here, tasty, great value with great service and atmosphere to boot. Thanks for a lovely evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Talby78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Inn Public House also viewed

 
Bishop's Tawton, Barnstaple
 
Muddiford, Barnstaple
 

Been to New Inn Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing