We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath of fresh air - kind of place that's in decline these days”

New Inn Public House
Ranked #1 of 140 Restaurants in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: You are closer than you think to wonderful home cooked food, great ales and fantastic company. Justin and Julia look forward to welcoming you to the friendliest of village free houses in rural Goodleigh, North Devon. We specialise in high quality home cooked pub fare, with traditional British favourites offered alongside exotic dishes from further afield. Relax in charming surroundings whilst sampling well kept ales that have had us listed in the Good Beer Guide for 3 years running. If you like trying something different our menu board is always changing to incorporate seasonal local meats, fish and vegetables. We can accommodate all needs, from a romantic table for two, family parties, or just about anything you had in mind.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Breath of fresh air - kind of place that's in decline these days”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Went here with a group of friends just before New Year.

We were greeted with a warm welcome from behind the bar and all of us enjoyed first class meals, desserts and service all delivered with a sense of joy, pride and personality that is not evident in most places these days.

Our only quibble was that we couldn't book in for New Year's Eve as unsuprisingly the sit down fancy dress night had sold out months in advance!

If you're ever in the area, pay it a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    32
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“what a gem!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just got back from our second meal in three days at the New Inn, 21 of us for lunch and 8 for dinner. Both meals were superb, each of the specials had both love and care poured into them and the desserts particularly were imaginative and absolutely superb. Add in a friendly welcome, fine ales on tap and you have the perfect pub dining experience. Make a trip here and you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank graham w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a cracking evening”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from an evening at the new inn goodliegh. Some friends invited us out for a meal and a catch up over christmas. As always the entrance to the car park is a little narrow but that only adds to the experence of the evening as this type of local country pub are being lost all to quickly. The beer was well kept and the wine selection was most enjoyable. Now we get to the food, an ever changing menu of high quality wholesome dishes with the only problem being which to choose. At the end of each course the only food that was left on the plate was due to portion size rather than any refelection on the kitchen. We will be back again. The best evening over christmas by far. Thanks to justin juilia and abby for looking after us so well. Recommend booking a table as it can get busy

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bigdaveofdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, England
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly and informal setting”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Small cosy pub in the village of Goodleigh where you feel welcome the minute that you walk in. The food is very sound pub grub - the steak and ale pie was delicious (no nasty surprise chewy bits hidden in it) and it came with a pile of chips and freshly cooked veg. The chicken liver pate was just as you would make it at home, and there's a good range of puds. Portions are generous. All in all, the kind of place that you expect (but are often disappointed) a pub at the heart of a village to be. We went twice in a week and weren't disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HerniaBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Saw this on Trip advisor when looking for somewhere to take our son out for a meal when visiting him in Barnstaple. We were not at all disappointed, the landlady offered us an extensive blackboard menu and said in fact we order anything we liked and as long as she had the ingredients she would cook it for us.
We ended up eating 3 courses because although we were pretty full, the deserts were irresistible too!
Even though it was a weekday evening the place was full although the owners did their best to seat anyone who came in if they could find a comfy corner somewhere!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_in_Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Inn Public House also viewed

 

Been to New Inn Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing