We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous stay at the Poplars”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Poplars

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barnstaple
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Poplars
Ranked #6 of 28 Barnstaple B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous stay at the Poplars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Lovely stay will definitely be paying another visit. Will certainly recommend it to others. Breakfast was amazing, only wish i could've eaten more! The hospitality was outstanding with attention to every detail, i felt very well looked after. The surroundings were also very well looked after with the garden looking almost like a fairytale during spring/summer, Rooms were excellent, very large and airy but cosy and accommodating at the same time. Looking forward to my next stay. Dan.

Room Tip: The one which faces the garden, Gives a stunning view. Especially during spring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie C, Owner at The Poplars, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thanks for your lovely comments, we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to North Devon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
35
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

My wife and I and Grandma stayed here over Easter. It is a lovely period house with big rooms with very new fixtures and fittings and ensuites. Very comfortable beds.
Tastefully decorated to a very high standard. Beautiful garden. Great breakfasts.
Maggie is a very kind and attentive host. Certainly one of the best B and Bs that we have stayed in. We would definitely choose to stay here again if we were in the area.
Another bonus point if you are cycling, is that there is a local cycle path about 10 yards from The Poplars which links into the other routes and the Tarka trail.
If you stay here I am sure you would enjoy it as much as we did. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms--one double and one with twin beds. Both look on to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brinkflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie C, Owner at The Poplars, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of The Poplars. It was an Easter weekend full of cycling, walking, chocolate and a few puzzles for Grandma! I am glad you all had a good time and hope the next stage of the coast walk goes well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We've just returned from a two night break at the Poplars.

All I can say is 'Wow!' Everything about staying at the Poplars is great!

We arrived and were met by the charming Maggie who showed us to our room. The house is beautiful and our room was huge, very clean, airy and decorated by someone with a very good eye.

A very nice touch is the home-baking left in a little tin on a table (we had cupcakes the first day, and cherry cake the second. Both were superb).

The breakfasts that Maggie serves are as big as you want. She is very accommodating (for example, porridge wasn't on the menu but she made it for us without any hesitation). Make sure you have a good appetite because the ingredients are so good (some of the best sausages I've had) and Maggie is such a good cook that you find yourself eating like a Trojan!

We very much enjoyed the fifteen minute walks along the river to the centre of Barnstaple too.

I can only say we will be returning which is the highest praise I can give.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TallPaul72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie C, Owner at The Poplars, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, it was a real pleasure to have you stay at The Poplars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Just had the most relaxing, special stay at the Poplars. Saul and Maggie greeted me and took me through the amazing, interesting house up to the the double room. With a great view onto a walled garden it was cosy and had a spacious boutique feel. The decoration, traditional features with modern furniture made the stay feel special.The bathroom is very tastefully decorated and fitted with all the essentials and so well done, the shower and the comfortable bed made the stay relaxing and I didn't want to leave. Saul and Maggie were such kind and welcoming hosts. Breakfast was delicious and provided enough sustenance for the entire day. I especially enjoyed watching the birds and walking through the garden. The location was perfect for walking to the town centre but also far enough that i could truly relax - the surroundings were stunningly beautiful. I will definitely be a good customer.

Room Tip: Look at the photographs to help you decide or ring and discuss your needs with Maggie as she is a fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaqs1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Had lovely weekend here in January and although the weather was very breezy and wet - we had a lovely time. The room had everything we needed, was newly decorated and had bags of style, the bed was super comfortable and we had a brilliant nights sleep. The house itself is a grand old rambling place and hosts Maggie and Saul are transforming it into a fantastic home, which together with the gardens make an impressive place to stay. Breakfasts were beautifully cooked and presented and our hosts were also friendly and helpful suggesting places to visit and eat. Will return to enjoy the weather and lovely gardens.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HelenFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

The photographs depicting The Poplars did not disappoint, neither did it's location and proximity to a choice of windswept (well it is January!) beaches just a short drive away. The house is inviting, beautifully decorated, including pieces of original artwork created by the owners. Our room was very comfortable with wonderful large windows looking onto the garden. The ensuite is a good size with a great shower. Maggie and Saul are lovely, welcoming hosts, offering advice on places to visit and eat. The breakfast menu is fresh and varied, ranging from cereals (do try Maggie's homemade granola!) fruit, yogurt, to full English/vegetarian breakfast even homemade waffles, which we promised ourselves we would sample on our next visit to The Poplars.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyP53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

What a wonderful weekend. The Poplars couldn't be more perfect, a tranquil setting within walking distance of Barnstaple town centre and 10 minutes drive from a great selection of beaches. Newly renovated, the Poplars provides a relaxing place to stay with great hosting from Maggie and Saul. A wonderful garden, great local food cooked to order, the rooms were fantastic and we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Many thanks, we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ameliatj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barnstaple hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
1.7 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
1.3 mi away
Yeo Dale Hotel
Yeo Dale Hotel
#8 of 28 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poplars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poplars

Property: The Poplars
Address: The Poplars Rumsam Road, Barnstaple EX32 9EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Barnstaple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome, 3 gorgeous rooms, all en-suite, and a hearty breakfast all set in the beautifully restored Poplars B&B. The Edwardian house is set in the leafy area of Rumsam in Barnstaple giving easy access to the bustling pannier markets and the stunning coastline. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Poplars Barnstaple, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing