We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base to explore the area from.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Friends booked the Premier Inn for a family weekend away in North Devon so were not sure what to expect. The hotel is easy to find situated on the edge of Barnstaple just across the road from a Tesco. Plenty of parking and very friendly and helpful reception staff. Room was good although slightly small for the four of us as they had squeezed a single bed in one corner by moving the desk which meant that the lamp was in a silly position. Bed very comfortable and overall a good weekend has had by both families exploring the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoliteEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 735 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stayed here last year on our wY to Cornwall, booking was all done on line and very straight forward, on arrival greeted very professionally, we had two rooms as we are a family of five, rooms were both very clean, fresh and modern, great stop over for all of us, will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Comfortable clean and neat room, with very comfortable beds.
Pity the evening bar & restaurant staff were so off hand & not welcoming. The breakfast staff were far better & cheerful
Good location for exploring north Devon.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

On a long weekend trip we were unable to stay at our planned resort and had to book in for a night in Barnstable on Thursday and a further night on Monday in St Austell. We were more than delighted to find the hotels very easily close to main road junctions. We were welcomed by very helpful staff and the following morning we had breakfast in the adjoining restaurant where we had an excellent meal that set us up for the day. We were travelling with our daughter and her two sons who also enjoyed the experience

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I stayed for business during July 2014. This is a great example of a premier inn, basic facilities but you always know what you are getting. The rooms are large and the bed is extremely comfortable, even though there was no air con on a hot day they had provided a fan which helped a bit. You only get 30 min free wifi a day but you can stop and start it as and when you like. Something I thought was good was they place single women travellers in a high level room in the main building where the reception is manned 24/7. The breakfast in the pub next door was great with costa coffee and food cooked fresh to order. When I am in the area again I will return.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leila249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Great staff, friendly and helpful. Rooms were too hot, had to ask for fan. The fan was only partially effective. Food ( dinner) in pub / restaurant very average but breakfast good. Good location parking


  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We just spent a lovely few days in this hotel & the disabled room had a wet room which made life much easier for myself & my husband. The staff were all very friendly & very helpful.

The restaurant had a good selection of meals and great breakfast. Their was a work experience boy, Charlie, he was a breath of fresh air, looked like he had been there for a few months but we were there on his first day & I was very impressed by his professionalism.
Thanks to all the staff see you soon

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank CornwallClob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel
2 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,394 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
595 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,669 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bideford
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel

Address: Whiddon Drive | Barnstaple, Barnstaple EX32 8RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range: $62 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden sands or green fields? At the Premier Inn Hotel Barnstaple, you're spoilt for choice. You'll find five fab beaches and the wilds of Exmoor all just 30 minutes away. Ride the waves at surf meccas Woolacombe, Saunton Sands and Croyde, or hop aboard a donkey at the historic fishing village of Clovelly. Bargain hunt at Barnstaple's covered market, or hunt crabs off the quay at Appledore. After making a splash, return and refuel in our Table Table restaurant, spacious rooms and comfy beds. Directions: Leave M5(J27) and follow the A361 for 38 miles. Situated off the North Devon Link Road (A361) towards Barnstaple town. Turn right at Portmore roundabout. Next to the Barum Gate Table Table. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: EX32 8RY Hotel Parking: Free on-site parking is available at this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel Barnstaple
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing