We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, clean hotel in great town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Couldn't ask for more from this Premier Inn, especially as we got it at what I believe is it's cheapest rate. Rooms have recently been modernised and are spotlessly clean, staff very helpful and everything in working order. best to have a car if you stay here as the 25 minute walk into Barnstaple is a bit long. Barnstaple is a great place to base yourself for exploring North Devon

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djb34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (720)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 720 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

Bed very hard did not get much sleep was told that all mattress were new. Restaurant needed refreshing up food not very good. Always stayed for years at premier lnns always been very pleased did not enjoy our few days away at this one


  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights, the hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in was spotless and very well kept and we had a good nights sleep. Unfortunately the restaurant was a bit of a let down, one evening we waited for an hour and twenty five minutes for our food. Waiters and bar staff were friendly but it was the waiting times that let the restaurant down.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AverageJoe90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I'm a big fan of Premier Inns but this was the worst one I have stayed in, although saying that it was still acceptable internally and the staff were as friendly and competent as always. The gardens were very overgrown and in need of a good weeding and grass cutting. It all looked a tad run down.
We arrived on the Wednesday on a meal deal package, great value but on our first night the fish fryer had broken and we were unable to have fish or scampi. We left on Saturday and the fryer was still out of order, not overall a disaster but it did limit our choices from the set menu.
There was a gentlemen there that tried to engage everyone in conversation. He had been at the Premier Inn for 5 months following the removal of his leg because of drug addiction. He was waiting to be rehoused by the DSS, whilst a pleasant enough chap, we were unable to enjoy a quiet drink outside because he would plead lack of money and ask directly for cigarettes etc.
I would go back again as the hotel is in a great location to serve all of North Devon and the staff were excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We all enjoyed our stay,,Will recommend it to our friends,It was very handy for us ,we didn't have to go far to where we wanted to be.All in all it was in the perfect place for us,Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daphne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

It's true that Premier Inn beds are really comfortable and for an over night business trip there's not much else you need. However, they really need to bring their bathrooms up to some sort of similar standard. My bathroom was not clean (I do not like sharing with someone else's hair), smelled of feet (I think it was the shower curtain) and the extractor was so noisy and ran for so long after switching the light off that you're better off trying to manage in the dark.
The on site restaurant was as expected - not that inspiring but the prices are reasonable. They claimed to be extremely busy and we couldn't sit down for 45 minutes, actually there were a lot of empty tables but (I presume) not enough waiting staff for all of them. The breakfast was very tasty but it did take 40 minutes to arrive.
All in all, it was an okay stay and the staff were very friendly, but nothing to set the world of hospitality on fire.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseF16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Overall a pleasant stay, but disagree with Premier Inn Policy to not allow 16 year olds to stay in family room. This means that families have to split up and pay for 2 rooms - not so family friendly!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel
0.9 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
684 reviews
2.0 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#4 of 6 in Barnstaple
576 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,612 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel

Address: Whiddon Drive | Barnstaple, Barnstaple EX32 8RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range: $61 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden sands or green fields? At the Premier Inn Hotel Barnstaple, you're spoilt for choice. You'll find five fab beaches and the wilds of Exmoor all just 30 minutes away. Ride the waves at surf meccas Woolacombe, Saunton Sands and Croyde, or hop aboard a donkey at the historic fishing village of Clovelly. Bargain hunt at Barnstaple's covered market, or hunt crabs off the quay at Appledore. After making a splash, return and refuel in our Table Table restaurant, spacious rooms and comfy beds. Directions: Leave M5(J27) and follow the A361 for 38 miles. Situated off the North Devon Link Road (A361) towards Barnstaple town. Turn right at Portmore roundabout. Next to the Barum Gate Table Table. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: EX32 8RY Hotel Parking: Free on-site parking is available at this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel Barnstaple
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing