We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good experience at the Premier Inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
134 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good experience at the Premier Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Fast check-in process at reception. We were allocated in the annexe. No view from the window, just trees and a bit of grass but not a problem as just there for one night. Large comfortable double bed and a good sized bed for a child, not the usual sofa you can get in many hotels. Large flat screen TV and desk/chair to use if needed. On the downside the room was far too hot, even with the window open.
For our evening meal we decided to eat next door at the Table Table restaurant which was very popular. Average pub prices but decent sized portions of food, my husband enjoyed his half roast chicken and chips. We had to chase for our food as it took a while to arrive but I think we'd been forgotten as others had their meals before us and had ordered after we had. Very good range of children's desserts for just 99p, others chains should follow this as they seemed to be very popular.
Good location for the hotel, with a large Tesco Extra store opposite and a McDonald's and other stores just down the road.
Overall, good experience, we've stayed at Premier Inns before and will do so again in future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tibbyhatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    245
    102
    26
    20
See reviews for
232
222
37
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed for one night in a family room, two adults and two children. Rooms are excellent for the cost with a double bed and two full size singles, a lot better than the normal manky sofa beds you sometimes find!. Nice food in the restaurant. Excellent showers and warm baths. We would definitely stay here again. I recommend this to everybody .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

The receptionists were exceptional, very welcoming and keen to help us out. We went to a wedding and really needed to get changed but it was 12pm so an early check-in was needed. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us.

The bed was very comfy and the bedroom itself was what I expected considering the cost.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed for one night with family members. Very friendly staff and always helpful. Ate breakfast in the Table Table restaurant next door, excellent . Would definitely stay again, can fully recommend for a good nights sleep and all round good experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
134 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

One of the better premier inn. A very warm welcome, room typical premier inn. No air con but there was a fan. Little bit of noise with people leaving the pub next door but I slept very well. Ate in the pub and had breakfast there too, they were very accommodating for the single business traveller. Would like to comment on the wonderful service that stood out- someone staying had left the lights on their car, the receptionist came and found them in the pub to tell them. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
327 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We do like Premier Inns but this one is not as good as some of the newer ones. The rooms are clean, comfy and you cannot here any road noise from outside despite it being on the main road. However there is no air con just a small fan (cannot open windows) and the view of the car park is less than appealing. Reception area is one table and a couple of chairs and a vending machine. Breakfast was in the restaurant next door and was fine - waitress extremely friendly and helpful.

I would stay here again if I was in the area but not in the height of summer it would be horrendous with no air con.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Feeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We recently stayed here and would strongly recommend it. All staff very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. Room lovely and spotlessly clean. Breakfast very good selection we also eat there every evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
2.0 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
8.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel
Address: Whiddon Drive | Barnstaple, Barnstaple EX32 8RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden sands or green fields? At the Premier Inn Hotel Barnstaple, you're spoilt for choice. You'll find five fab beaches and the wilds of Exmoor all just 30 minutes away. Ride the waves at surf meccas Woolacombe, Saunton Sands and Croyde, or hop aboard a donkey at the historic fishing village of Clovelly. Bargain hunt at Barnstaple's covered market, or hunt crabs off the quay at Appledore. After making a splash, return and refuel in our Table Table restaurant, spacious rooms and comfy beds. Directions: Leave M5(J27) and follow the A361 for 38 miles. Situated off the North Devon Link Road (A361) towards Barnstaple town. Turn right at Portmore roundabout. Next to the Barum Gate Table Table. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: EX32 8RY Hotel Parking: Free on-site parking is available at this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel Barnstaple
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing