We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stifling hot room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stifling hot room!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had 3 nights of hell in Barnstaple Premier Inn between 20th and 23rd July 2013. The room temperature ranged between 28 - 29.5 degrees! Totally unacceptable. I wish I had checked out after the first night but was hoping it would improve - instead it got worse! I note the same problem from reviews in July 2011 and August 2012 with comments from management promising to look into the problem. Why, then, in July 2013 is the problem still there. The hotel had been recently refurbished so I don't understand why they didn't take the opportunity to resolve this. The windows will not open wide enough to gain ventilation. The corridor was just as hot. I went to reception during my last night to ask for another fan and complained about the heat but there was no offer of a refund under the good night's sleep policy - what a joke! I've stayed in many Premier Inns in my time and have had a good night's sleep but Barnstaple is the worst I've every stayed in and I will never use it again. Since none of the Premier Inn hotels have air conditioning, I am going to reconsider using them again. The high room temperature was totally unacceptable.

Room Tip: Don't use this hotel in the summer,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mubrilis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    261
    106
    26
    20
See reviews for
244
229
39
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, Uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed there as a break in the journey for the kids, the beds were some kind on fold out bed, which is stored under the main bed, one of the kids decided he wanted to stay with his mum, I got turfed out and i 'tried' to sleep on this bed which had the comfort rating of a plank! Premier inn I am surprised! Your beds are usually quite good but this was terrible, I won't be bringing the kids there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seancunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guest have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. Your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up by both our Customer Services Team and the Management team at this hotel. Once again thank you for your review we do hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed here to visit family members, and it was overall a relaxing weekend. The room was good, had free wifi, the beds were comfy, the bathroom was dirty though. The staff looked like they didnt enjoy the job, and i was woke up by music that the cleaners were listening to. But there is a lovely bar outside of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights with 2 small children. We found the staff to be friendly, knowledgable and very helpful. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. The restaurant next door provided our breakfasts and dinner and we had no complaints with the food or service. The hotel is also in a great location. We have stayed here on a number of occasions and have never had a problem here. We would recommend to anyone thinking of staying in the area

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoboticChicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premierinnbarnstaple, Manager at Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback,
We're very glad you enjoyed your stay!
And glad to hear you keep coming back to stay at Barnstaple.
Regards
M.Bond
Barnstaple Premier inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed four nights in this clean comfortable hotel. Very convenient for the town centre and as a base for exploring the local area.The pub/restauarnat next door served good meals at a reasonable price. There is a Tesco supermarket about 5 minutes walk away and a bus stop very close to the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms at PI appear to be of the same quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarrieWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Great location to use as a base for exploring
Hotel was very clean with great staff
Restaurant was right next door with nice staff and a simple effective menu
Car parking was also very convenient and secure

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 528MikeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Arrived at 9pm after a long day. My first stay at a Premier Inn in quite a while. Greeted with a smile. Fast check in. Room clean and well set out. Large flat screen tv. Rooms appear to be have been refurbished in the past few months. My stay was spoilt by the door to the room not being secure. It just would not lock. A slight push from the corridor side and door was wide open. Receptionist tried in vain to put right but the services of a carpenter would be required to put right. Receptionist offered me the use of a disabled room which I turned down. I assume this is just a one off. The hotel appeared well managed and the receptionist was keen to help. I would stay again if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jigroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
2.0 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,174 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
563 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,484 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
520 reviews
8.2 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel
Address: Whiddon Drive | Barnstaple, Barnstaple EX32 8RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden sands or green fields? At the Premier Inn Hotel Barnstaple, you're spoilt for choice. You'll find five fab beaches and the wilds of Exmoor all just 30 minutes away. Ride the waves at surf meccas Woolacombe, Saunton Sands and Croyde, or hop aboard a donkey at the historic fishing village of Clovelly. Bargain hunt at Barnstaple's covered market, or hunt crabs off the quay at Appledore. After making a splash, return and refuel in our Table Table restaurant, spacious rooms and comfy beds. Directions: Leave M5(J27) and follow the A361 for 38 miles. Situated off the North Devon Link Road (A361) towards Barnstaple town. Turn right at Portmore roundabout. Next to the Barum Gate Table Table. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: EX32 8RY Hotel Parking: Free on-site parking is available at this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel Barnstaple
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing