We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay but let down by breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I spent three nights here in October. A fairly standard Premier Inn, the room was clean and comfortable and was thoroughly cleaned every day. Although facing the road I did not hear noise from it.
The staff at reception were welcoming and helpful.
Sadly, the breakfast offering which I had booked with the room was less than satisfactory especially on the first (Sunday) morning, I had to wait a long time to be seated, the cooked food was excessively greasy and looked as if most of the components had sat under heat lamps for a long time. Over an hour hour before the end of service there were no croissants or brown bread left. On the second day, the scrambled eggs were cold when they arrived at the table.
My advice would be to leave out the breakfast and cross the road to the Tesco restaurant which at least is much cheaper.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solotravellerBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 742 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

Were called by the hotel today at 4.40 pm to be told our CONFIRMED reservation for that evening was no longer valid as a result of overbooking. The manager was totally ineffectual, and could not explain why the mistake had taken place. We were to be attending a wedding locally tomorrow, and this has completely ruined our plans. No offer to pay for alternative accommodation. No sense that the manager had any regrets about what had happened. This shows the Premier Inn chain in a stark light- ignore the cosy TV ads. The reality is cheap and nasty.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
3  Thank FrequentFlier01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn our main objective remains to deliver a high level of customer service in all our establishments. We apologise for the service you experienced at our hotel.

Your comments have been noted and will be duly investigated by both Head Office and the Management Team at our hotel.

Please be assured at Premier Inn we take the service provided to all our guests very seriously and your feedback will be duly followed up.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay we do hope that we can welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina
Social Media Team,

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed here for one night on Business hotel s fine like to stay in the Newer part nice and quiet and friendly staff , however I've stayed at this hotel three times in the last twelve month and the service in the Resturaunt is appalling had to wait a very long time to order and waited Upto 45 mins for food. this has happened everything. Now I stay in Premier inns 2/3 times a month all over uk and never found this problem at any other Hotel Resturaunt .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed for three nights in October whilst visiting family in Barnstable.
Friendly welcoming staff.very helpful and knowledgeable .
Room extremely clean and bed comfortable.Was in room 25 which overlooked the annexe so no noise from main road.
Food in Pub next door good value for the price
Will definitely stay here whe back in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a smart hotel, reasonably priced with friendly and efficient staff. Great room facilities but a crying shame about the bed being so hard! Breakfast does shound expensive compared to 'Tesco over the road' but it was 200% better and pretty good value for money - didn't want to eat again until much later. Be prepared to wait for the toast - the toaster is 4 slot domestic and takes forever ......... the up side is you get to chat to others in the queue! I would recommend this hotel providing you can live with the bed!

Room Tip: No lift in main block so if you have access difficulties let reception know, they will sort somethin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have stopped here several times, it's a great over night stop before we start our weeks holiday at Combrew Farm just outside Barnstaple. We last stopped here last weekend and as always the hotel staff were extremely friendly, nothing is too much for the staff. We were given room 4 which faced the back of the hotel, it was lovely and quiet and the room was very spacious. After a terrible night the previous night at the Travelodge in Droitwich (See Review) it was lovely to arrive and for reception to say they have a good night sleep guarantee, they even give you a number to ring if there are problems with noise. Slept extremely well and was up nice and early next day to begin our holiday. We will certainly be back

Room Tip: As long as there is still the good night sleep guarantee then it doesn't matter where you room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nburns2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Everything was good about our stay, from the friendly welcome of the staff to the lovely dinner and a great breakfast. Ideally situated for visiting the Pannier Market and other attractions in the area. Don't forget to visit Croyde Bay if you're in the area - the surfers are great to watch. Go for the Meal Deal when booking as where else can you get a 3 course meal with a drink and great breakfast for £20 per person.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorset2329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel
0.9 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
724 reviews
2 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
612 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,688 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bideford
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel

Address: Whiddon Drive | Barnstaple, Barnstaple EX32 8RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range: $79 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden sands or green fields? At the Premier Inn Hotel Barnstaple, you're spoilt for choice. You'll find five fab beaches and the wilds of Exmoor all just 30 minutes away. Ride the waves at surf meccas Woolacombe, Saunton Sands and Croyde, or hop aboard a donkey at the historic fishing village of Clovelly. Bargain hunt at Barnstaple's covered market, or hunt crabs off the quay at Appledore. After making a splash, return and refuel in our Table Table restaurant, spacious rooms and comfy beds. Directions: Leave M5(J27) and follow the A361 for 38 miles. Situated off the North Devon Link Road (A361) towards Barnstaple town. Turn right at Portmore roundabout. Next to the Barum Gate Table Table. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: EX32 8RY Hotel Parking: Free on-site parking is available at this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel Barnstaple
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing