We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy”

Everest Gurkha Chef
Ranked #7 of 139 Restaurants in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Barnstaple
2 reviews
“Yummy”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This was the fist time we have been lovely, great quality, will definately go back, the food was very fresh and tasty x yummy x

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    41
    8
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Ignore bad review - best place in town!”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

The Everest Ghurka is a family favourite and my first visit tonight was incredible. We prebooked a table and were welcomed in upon arrival. Service was quick and to see the food being cooked in the kitchen behind the desk freshly was a nice point.

Food was great sized portions, not too much to stuff you but enough to make you full.

Milan, Rami and the young girl (sorry didn't catch your name!)were all lovely and helpful in helping to choose dishes.

Ignore any bad reviews here - I've eaten around the world and this place is the highest quality!

Helpful?
2 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“3 visits on and still loving it”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Went again tonight and yet again the food delights us, I am on a mission to try all the dishes at least once but hubby is rather partial to the chilli chicken which I have to say is one of my favourites!
We had mixed starters first and would say that perhaps a tad more seasoning wouldn't have gone amiss and with perhaps with pupadoms a little more dip in the bowl although they did top ours up!
We like that they spice up our daughters food, remember her name when we visit and she loves the ice cream at the end !
We go early so it's quiet but having so few table be sure to book for a weekend, this food needs to be tried and also order the mango lassi, amazing !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Owners2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pfft”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

So we stumbled upon this restaurant on a late Saturday night?with not many people in there,we ordered the recommendations of the chicken,of a normal spiced dish,mine was lacking any great taste and very bad portain for money,my friends was horrendous, everything was under cooked and so sloppy, we could tell they didn't care we was there and service was terrible,wouldn't recommend at all. Sorry

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank cbrayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westward Ho, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“unpretentious - just very good food...”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Went here on the back of a friend's recommendation and TA ranking. Like other small, no frills restaurants (Lackys in Plymouth comes to mind) these places let the cooking do the talking. We arrived early (before 7pm); by the time we left all the tables were taken and one party had to be turned away so you'd be advised to book. Be prepared to wait too as it's a very popular takeaway.
The Ghurka Special was delicious and if you ask for hot, be warned it is hot (as it should be!)
Really reasonable too (the BYO helps) and portions are generous. Couldn't fault it. Will be back...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chrispreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Everest Gurkha Chef also viewed

Barnstaple, Devon
Barnstaple, Devon
 

Been to Everest Gurkha Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing