We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!!!”
Review of Windsor Arms

Windsor Arms
Ranked #60 of 140 Restaurants in Barnstaple
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Windsor Arms has a function room which comprises of a Skittle Alley, Pool Table & Dart Boards which also allows for the catering of Parties, Functions, Weddings, Christenings & all other special occasions Outside Facilities are also available on request (subject to licence if the sale of alcohol is required) A separate restaurant area allows for a personal family eating experience with the food freshly & locally sourced produce A covered, heated alfresco area to the side of the pub is also available Food hours Wednesday - Saturday lunchtime12.00 Noon till 14.00 Evening 18.00 Till 21.00 Sunday lunch 12.00 Noon till 14.30 Booking advisable
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great!!!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We visited for the first time last night, having moved in around the corner. Excellent, reasonably priced food, great vegetarian choice, good beer, and sociable, friendly staff. We will certainly return plenty of times

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dgyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lwindsor, Owner at Windsor Arms, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for finding the time to write a review.
We are glad you were happy with our homemade vegetarian selection.
And hope you have settled in well.
Look forward to seeing you all soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday lunch”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My husband and I have just had the most lovely Sunday roast dinner at the Windsor Arms. £8.95 for either beef or pork and the bread and butter pudding included was to die for. Angie and Tia are fabulous cooks and never disappoint so if you want a treat get there to enjoy both the food and Lisa and Scott's hospitality. A little gem in North Devon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lwindsor, Owner at Windsor Arms, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for giving up your time and giving us a review.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your sunday roast with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.
We love the fact you called us `'a little gem in North Devon"
thank you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sunday roast bliss”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We have struggled to find a good Sunday lunch in Barnstaple for a while now and usually have to travel a few miles outside to the country pubs, but I can safely say that the Windsor arms is a little gem. My girlfriend had the pork £8.95 and I had the mixed meat pork and beef at £9.95 both with choice of dessert. It was lovely and served with a great selection of what my girlfriend calls the best roast potatoes ever, a swede and potato mash, cabbage and other veg. The crackling was luscious and all topped off with as much gravy to fill an Olympic sized inflatable paddling pool. The service was also great, prompt and served with a smile. I would recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteFknuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lwindsor, Owner at Windsor Arms, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for giving up your time and giving us a review.
We are so pleased that you are happy with us, and that we catered for your "olympic sized inflatable paddling pool of gravy" that did make us chuckle.
We hope that we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sunday roast”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I have struggled to find a "proper" roast dinner locally in Barnstaple but went to the Windsor with g/f for Sunday lunch last week and had two fantastic roast beef dinners. The meat was cooked perfectly, the roast potatoes were crispy, the veg was seasonal, the Yorkshire pudding was fantastic and this was all tied together with a flavoursome and moreish gravy. The staff were friendly and attentive, even bringing out a few more spuds and gravy to cater for my gluttony! The desserts were all tempting and the homemade Oreo ice cream (me) and toffee bread and butter pudding (her!) made it a very pleasing and satisfying conclusion to a thoroughly enjoyable meal.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this friendly pub restaurant. You feel welcome on arrival and full on your exit. We had two mains and two desserts for £15, which proved great value. If you like good traditional food, a friendly smile and exceptional value..... get to the Windsor. We'll certainly be heading back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Surfsupdude10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lwindsor, Owner at Windsor Arms, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for giving up your time and giving us a review, we are so pleased that you are happy with us.
Glad we could help you on finding a "proper" roast dinner.
Its really nice to hear that people recommend us. so thank you on behalf of the team.
Looking forward to seeing you and your girlfriend soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My boyfriend & I had Sunday lunch here yesterday. We were a little unsure if still serving as we didn't get there til 1.45pm... however a warm friendly welcome said yes!
Its a good value traditional pub sunday dinner & for £7.50 2courses it was fab. Service was quick & plentyfull. I nearly asked for bread & butter to mop my gravy up but the other half said no...
We will definiately return!
Think we should all support local businesses & Not rubbish chain places which churn out ready meals. (please note i'm not from Barnstaple but my boyfriend is.)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pav T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lwindsor, Owner at Windsor Arms, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for giving up your time and giving us a review, we are so pleased that you are happy with us, and if you wanted bread & butter to mop up your gravy that would of been fine.
Thank you for supporting local businesses and not chains, like we say 'use it or lose it' and thats one thing we don't want to happen, lets hope everyone supports there local.
look forward to seeing you on a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windsor Arms also viewed

 
Barnstaple, Devon
 

Been to Windsor Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing