We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barnstaple Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$166
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Hotel(Barnstaple)
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hotel(Barnstaple)
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel(Barnstaple)(Great Value!)
$67
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Durrant House(Bideford)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,453)
Filter reviews
1,453 results
Traveler rating
697
523
174
42
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
697
523
174
42
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolbowling alleykids clubburger kingchanging roomsan industrial estatehealth clubleisure facilitiesno liftgreat facilitieswould stay againfirst classlovely hotelnorth devonfunction roombrend hotelsexcellent food
Filter
Updating list...
1,206 - 1,211 of 1,453 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Enjoyable stay, combining a weekend break with catching up with family. Friendly, helpful, staff and nice clean rooms. Menu for bar, rooms, restaurant appeared a bit limited, but staff were happy to adapt menus to suit our somewhat awkward requirements.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Uncom4table
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, General Manager at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you for review The Barnstaple Hotel. It was lovely to hear you had enjoyed your stay here, and we are able to meet any requests. We hope you have had a lovely Christmas and Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Wow we have stayed in a couple of the brend hotels before they are lovely hotels and the staff are great .very clean and very magical at this time of year keep the good work up.Food fantastic .merry Christmas to you all.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, General Manager at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you for reviewing the Barnstaple Hotel, we are glad you found the hotel magical at this time of the year. We hope you had a lovely Christmas and hope you have a fantastic New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The whole evening ran very smoothly. Food was delicious with plenty of it. Staff very polite and efficient :) Room was nicely decorated and clean. Music a definite improvement on last year :)What more can one ask for?!

Room Tip: If you're in a room outside the hotel, would recommend bringing ear plugs as walls not sound-proofed. Quality of sleep was disturbed by outside sounds and even heard next door's text come through! Believe rooms inside the hotel are much better sound-proofed.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karen210206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, General Manager at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your Christmas Party at The Barnstaple Hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your evening. We are taking bookings for next year already so if you are looking to return please call our conference and banqueting department who will be happy to book you in for next year. Hope you had a lovely christmas and Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Had a wonderful weekend away staying at the barnstable hotel.

Warm friendly welcome on Arrival quick and easy check in, We booked to stay in the bray suite and the room was perfect.

We had a big double bed, hotel dressing gowns, complementary chocolates and water in the room as we'll as the standard tea and coffee making facility's.

The bathroom was amazing big walk in shower and big bath spotlessly clean and comfortable.

We used the indoor pool and relaxation suite, and although we didn't use the gym we did see it and it looked really well equipped.

There was a Christmas party on when we stayed so the restaurant was shut but we were offered room service without the extra charge, we decided to eat out and there is a lovely pub about ten minutes drive away called vintage inns excellent food.

We did have breakfast in the hotel and it was very good, with fried and poached eggs cooked to order friendly waiting staff very enjoyable,
If I was to pick any fault it would be that the continental breakfast option could of been larger but the food was excellent.

Will defiantly return and also looking forward or trying some of the other brend. Hotels.

Room Tip: Bray suite was excellent, but there is no lift so wouldn't be suitable for anyone with mobility difficulties
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, General Manager at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The Barnstaple Hotel. I am really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay especially in our Bray Suite and got a chance to try breakfast. We hope you will be returning in the future and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Could be a creature of habit but stayed here yet again with my whole family, sons and grand daughters. Had a great meal in the restaurant and staff were all brilliant as usual. For us, this hotel is consistently clean friendly and well located and we use it frequently to chill out

Room Tip: Great indoor and outdoor facilities and also hosts functions so let the hotel know if you want a quiet area, they have always accommodated our needs especially if we have children
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, General Manager at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoy your stay and the facilities we have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Barnstaple Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews