We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good weekend enjoyed”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Barnstaple Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barnstaple Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Weston super Mare
Level Contributor
198 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good weekend enjoyed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

On arrival reception were efficient, and provided the service one would expect, my only small area of concern here was that we had to pay in full on arrival for the room rate - am fairly well travelled and never experienced that before, was not a big issue, but one I was not expecting.

The Room was very clean and tidy, well done housekeeping team. Fairly recent update by the looks, however the big let down was the windows, they initially looked dirty and obscured the view of the hillsides, but turned out the double glazing had 'blown' with internal misting. This was reported at checkout, pointless before as it would have taken a few days to purchase and fit new inner glazing.

The fitness complex team, were good, provided all the info you needed to know. The Gym equipment was first class and all up to date. The swimming pool was nice and warm, and plenty of room around to relax and enjoy. Changing rooms were clean and tidy.

We had evening meals extra each night, and the food was very good standard, the pan fried sea bass was one of the best I had on night one, well done the chef, and night two the steak was not quite what I ordered, but felt no need to raise the issue, as all other parts of the meal were very good, with huge amounts of vegetables.

Breakfast was straight forward, and you were welcomed, with a smile, and an explanation of the breakfast including items that you may wish to be cooked separate to that on the buffet.ie porridge.

All in all a very good stay, a couple of minor issues but nothing huge, will go back in the future, and shopping was only a short 10 minute walk away, and a very good shopping centre.

The front looks a bit strange at first but belies that inside, the car park is close to the hotel, so not sure of previous comments of long walk, but if I was the owner I would certainly consider purchasing the spare land to the side, and re-building a new frontage to add to the interior style.

Well done the team.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weary-Traveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, General Manager at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    421
    148
    30
    15
See reviews for
324
337
52
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Disappointing. Not for the first time we were charged silly prices for drinks in the bar (situated in the main dining room). In this case an incredible £12.50 for two glasses of dry white wine. If you do want a carvery here, take your own drinks or go home with an empty wallet.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JSD176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Manager at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I do hope you enjoyed your carvery with us on Sunday. I am sorry to hear that you feel our wine is overpriced but we do display all wine prices on the bar and all our bar staff are trained to ask the customer if they would like a small, medium or large glass of wine. On this occasion you order 2 large glasses (250ml) of dry white wine which are priced at £6.25 each, which is roughly what all other restuarant or bars in the Barnstaple area charge. I do hope that this does not deture you from using us in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Mr M Hawes
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is not the most picturesque hotel or location, but don't be put off. We had the most lovely week. The staff are exemplary in their friendliness and helpfulness. The room was lovely, the pool fantastic. Breakfast and the breakfast staff are especially lovely and we had a real sense of feeling looked after, which was a real treat. They were especially kind and friendly to our young twins. Well-placed for lots of lovely day trips too. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

When we first pulled into the Barnstaple Hotel drive, my heart dropped - next to a Drive-Thru Burger King and a go-karting centre; and an oddly designed exterior. However, my enthusiasm returned during our weekend stay at this hotel. Our boys loved the pool and the fact that WII was available in the gamesroom. The gym was fantastic - much better than your average hotel gym. Croissants in the breakfast buffet were perfect (they can often be too heavy or dry at many UK hotels). And staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The price was very reasonable and we thought the kid-friendly aspects (kids eat free, drinks and ice cream available all day, and kids can swim any time during pool hours) were exactly what we needed. A nice, basic hotel that ticked all the boxes for us as a base from which to venture to the beaches in North Devon. The only downside was the view onto an industrial estate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Carlymotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullompton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Just been an had a faultless Sunday carvery at this lovely hotel,what a selection of meat and Vegtables.the service we had was top class,well done to all envolved.it has great value for money.nice atmosphere warm surroundings,we will be going back again in the near future,great puddings to.top marks to all.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevinscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is the 4th time I've stayed here & again I have to commend the staff again for their professionalism & politeness. I stayed in room 58, it was clean, attractively decorated & quiet. The breakfast was good as always. I didn't have dinner this time, just drinks in the bar which were reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

As always a great event made even better by the Hotel and Staff.
The staff are always helpful, the pool (indoor) is lovely and hot.
The gourmet style food was very, very good well presented and pipeing hot

Nuff said!!!!!!
Jinksy and Sue

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Clive D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel
6.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
8.7 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnstaple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnstaple Hotel

Property: Barnstaple Hotel
Address: Braunton Road, Barnstaple EX31 1LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barnstaple Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barnstaple Hotel: The Barnstaple Hotel is just a short stroll from the centre of the picturesque market town of Barnstaple, and only ten minutes drive from the stunning North Devon coast. Stylish and contemporary, and with an easy, friendly atmosphere, the hotel is ideal for family holidays with its spacious bedrooms around the pool. Businessmen, too, choose it as a comfortable and convenient venue for conferences and meetings. And if you're planning a wedding, you can be sure of the perfect day of your dreams. Recently refurbished and expanded, the Barnstaple Hotel is the ideal place to relax and unwind. Use it as a base for exploring North Devon's attractions and beauty spots. You'll soon feel at home! North Devon's premier health and leisure centre: The superb new Health and Leisure Club - North Devon's finest - offers you heated indoor and outdoor pools, a high-tech gym, and a range of soothing alternative therapies and treatments. The ideal conference venue. With its easy access to North Devon's major road and rail links, the Barnstaple Hotel is a convenient location for business meetings. We can do everything to make your conference a success, whether it's small seminar or a gathering of up to 350.Your delegates will appreciate the well-equipped conferences rooms, the luxury en-suite accommodation, and the delicious food. When you choose the Barnstaple Hotel for your business meeting you'll have all the advantages of a metropolitan venue with the added glories of the North Devon coast nearby. So why not combine business with pleasure? A family holiday to remember: You and your family can enjoy ten-pin bowling and thrilling go-karting nearby. Within a short drive you'll find golden sandy beaches, theme and farm parks - everything, in fact, to keep your children busy and happy. And the beaches at Saunton and Croyde, with their surf schools, are close by. The Tarka Trail cycle path runs alongside the hotel - why not hire a bike and cycle beside the river to Bideford or Braunton? And with the beautiful Exmoor National Park nearby, you can go wild in the country - it's just a short drive away! Banquets and functions: The Barnstaple Hotel is perfect for celebrations and parties, from small intimate occasions with a simple buffet to extravagant banquets for 300 guests. Our experienced team will be delighted to advise you. Your North Devon Wedding: At The Barnstaple Hotel we take care of absolutely everything to make sure that your special day runs smoothly and successfully. And as well as hosting your wedding reception, we can offer the Arlington Suite or the Ashford Suite if you are arranging a civil marriage ceremony. Our dedicated wedding planner will be on hand to help you make all the right decisions, down to the smallest detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barnstaple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnstaple Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing