We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Barnstaple Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barnstaple Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Another great weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

What can I say What a lovely hotel. Super clean. Fantastic food.Super efficient staff.Facilities ie swimming pool etc superb.Very attentive staff.Any time we are in the west country we will always stay in this hotel.Just to mention Dan the barman what a worker.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael lewis j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    421
    148
    30
    15
See reviews for
324
337
52
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a tip top complex.. food superb.. gym swim facilties excellent. The staff are second to none!! You ask for something and it is brought immediately. I CANNOT understand why this hotel dosent have a 5 star rating... as I have stayed in hotels which would not stand up to the quality of this one.

Room Tip: overlooking the swimming pool !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylviarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeking only the best
Level Contributor
108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed yet again at the Barnstaple hotel. We were at a large event. The staff are really good the hotel lovely. The food was wonderful. The only one thing is the drinks are expensive at the bar. If, only the prices were cheaper we would have purchased more. Instead we went next door to the bowling alley were they drinks were cheaper.

Room Tip: in the main hotel unless disabled as no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldiehawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was the second visit to this hotel and both times the service, food and accommodation have been excellent. The position of the hotel is the only thing that lets it down.
If you have a problem walking it would be advisable to inform the hotel when you book as there is no lift and many of the rooms are a long walk from the bar and restaurant.
Ideal for a weekend break. Looking forward to my next visit in March 2013

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 44west
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Recently stayed for a three night weekend, along with many friends who like Ann and I were there to enjoy a weekend of music, good food and relaxation.
Our last visit had been two years ago which was a very good experiance, and this time was no different. the double room was spotlessly clean, fresh towels and sheets, nice bath which Ann loves and a very comfortable bed.
The staff are very pleasant and hard working. The food is of very good quality very nice choice of dishes (evening meal) on menu, excellently presented coupled with an attentive staff who are keen, the breakfast is self service with eggs cooked to order and kippers, haddock etc available to order.
Guest have the use of the pool, relaxation area, gym and saunas all of which are of liesure centre quality..
It is a 10 to 15 minute walk into the town which is enjoyable either down the road or along the side of river.
My only disappointment is the price of drinks at the bar, given that we were a "captive group" £3.50 for Doombar is letting the side down, but it is easy profit.
People reading this review should remember this is a three star hotel which offers more than its rating suggest.
I have no hesitation in saying I would go back.

Room Tip: I liked the ground floor room across from main hotel (opposite outdoor pool) never heard a thing onc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Excellent food,music was fantastic,back next year.The town is just a ten minute walk(helps to walk off the excellent food).The service was good,room was comfortable so not alot to add except to repeat what a great weekender.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesNorthwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

First I would like to commend Hannah for the care and attention given in returning my coat. First I received a phone call informing me that I had left my coat and thinking it would have to go the charity shop, I was relieved and pleased that Hannah offered to post it to me! It arrived first class post , folded and packed beautifully. Many thanks Hannah.
Now I would like to say what a lovely chilled weekend my husband and I experienced the week end of Oct 27th which was my husbands' birthday. Everything was lovely. The room was very well equipped and all our needs and wants were met here. The bathroom and the showers were wonderful, lovely deep bath which I languished in while football was on tele!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Staff were lovely the pool and the massage were amazing and I would to thank Lisa for a lovely hour of pain and relaxation it was superb!
Our only critiscism was through the day we found the room chilly but think, that ,we came the weekend the clocks went back so the heating would be set for an earlier time to come on after that.The room was clean and the towels were lovely the little touches ie choclates and water were well accepted. Barnstaple was great (our first visit) and surrounding areas were just lovely. Had a great time. We will definitely go back and can't wait there is so much to do.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Bray and so I can't comment on other rooms. Ours was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YVONNE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel
6.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
8.7 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnstaple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnstaple Hotel

Property: Barnstaple Hotel
Address: Braunton Road, Barnstaple EX31 1LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barnstaple Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barnstaple Hotel: The Barnstaple Hotel is just a short stroll from the centre of the picturesque market town of Barnstaple, and only ten minutes drive from the stunning North Devon coast. Stylish and contemporary, and with an easy, friendly atmosphere, the hotel is ideal for family holidays with its spacious bedrooms around the pool. Businessmen, too, choose it as a comfortable and convenient venue for conferences and meetings. And if you're planning a wedding, you can be sure of the perfect day of your dreams. Recently refurbished and expanded, the Barnstaple Hotel is the ideal place to relax and unwind. Use it as a base for exploring North Devon's attractions and beauty spots. You'll soon feel at home! North Devon's premier health and leisure centre: The superb new Health and Leisure Club - North Devon's finest - offers you heated indoor and outdoor pools, a high-tech gym, and a range of soothing alternative therapies and treatments. The ideal conference venue. With its easy access to North Devon's major road and rail links, the Barnstaple Hotel is a convenient location for business meetings. We can do everything to make your conference a success, whether it's small seminar or a gathering of up to 350.Your delegates will appreciate the well-equipped conferences rooms, the luxury en-suite accommodation, and the delicious food. When you choose the Barnstaple Hotel for your business meeting you'll have all the advantages of a metropolitan venue with the added glories of the North Devon coast nearby. So why not combine business with pleasure? A family holiday to remember: You and your family can enjoy ten-pin bowling and thrilling go-karting nearby. Within a short drive you'll find golden sandy beaches, theme and farm parks - everything, in fact, to keep your children busy and happy. And the beaches at Saunton and Croyde, with their surf schools, are close by. The Tarka Trail cycle path runs alongside the hotel - why not hire a bike and cycle beside the river to Bideford or Braunton? And with the beautiful Exmoor National Park nearby, you can go wild in the country - it's just a short drive away! Banquets and functions: The Barnstaple Hotel is perfect for celebrations and parties, from small intimate occasions with a simple buffet to extravagant banquets for 300 guests. Our experienced team will be delighted to advise you. Your North Devon Wedding: At The Barnstaple Hotel we take care of absolutely everything to make sure that your special day runs smoothly and successfully. And as well as hosting your wedding reception, we can offer the Arlington Suite or the Ashford Suite if you are arranging a civil marriage ceremony. Our dedicated wedding planner will be on hand to help you make all the right decisions, down to the smallest detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barnstaple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnstaple Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing