We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,889)
Filter reviews
1,889 results
Traveler rating
1,410
361
88
21
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,410
361
88
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the river arlington restaurant first class brend hotels standard room dress code nothing is too much trouble high standard traditional hotel excellent food quality hotel excellent hotel brend group short break third visit excellent stay three nights
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,889 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A restful, relaxing holiday. The staff, as always, are caring and helpful. With our dietary requirements, the Chef cooked off-menu meals which was very helpful.
We've stayed here several times and will stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your review and for awarding us a 5 out of 5 rating. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us once again! I will pass your kind comments onto our Chef and his team. I'm so pleased your stay was restful and relaxing, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for a couple of days after returning from a holiday on Lundy. The room overlooking the river was clean and comfortable. All the staff worked tremendously hard to make our stay here a home-from-home. We will be back next month to celebrate my wife's birthday. Many thanks for making this stay perfect and looking forward to many more return visits.

Room Tip: Rooms with a river view are excellent
Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your review and for awarding us a 5 out of 5 rating. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments regarding our hard working staff members across all departments are lovely to read, and be assured these will be passed on to them via our 'review board' located in our staff room. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back next month for your wife's birthday..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed at the Imperial many (6+) times over the past 20 years and always enjoyed our time at the hotel, however we did notice a difference this year the food was a little disappointing not to the usual standard, our room was at the baclub of the hotel and was noisy diluemail to the large vent we presume was from the kitchens, we booked a Standard room which was smaller than the Imperial room, this was an error on my part as the difference in price wasn't huge. We will return in the future but will certainly ensure we book a larger room!

Room Tip: Avoid the Standard room, too small and appear to situated where no one can sleep comfortably.
Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank angie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your review following your stay at The Imperial Hotel and may I also thank you for your repeat custom within Brend Hotels. I am most disappointed that on this occasion we were not able to satisfy your dining requirements as well as we'd hope. The vast majority of feedback regarding our food is positive so to hear of negative feedback is obviously rare. Rest assured your comments have however been taken on board.
We do offer a variety of grades of rooms, with a deluxe or the state room being the largest, whilst also benefiting from many extras as well as river views.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back once more in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One of our regular visits to the Imperial Hotel, this time for one week. The hotel was its usual high standard with the excellent staff as helpful as ever. The hotel may not have leisure facilities, but more than makes up for it with the high quality of the food and rooms. We had an Imperial room this time which gave us a view of the river and the square. We were in Barnstaple for the finish of stage two of the round Britain cycle race which was quite exciting seeing everything that went into organising the event. Also we had fairly good weather and were able to go for walks on the excellent sandy beaches nearby. The hotel and area is thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bstonestreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your review and for awarding us a 5 out of 5 rating. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us once again! Your repeat visits to The Imperial are gratefully appreciated and I am so glad that you found your time with us comfortable & relaxing. I am so pleased that you found all aspects of your stay, from the quality of the room, the food and the service, to be "excellent". It was certainly an eventful weekend and I'm glad you enjoyed the race! Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent a pleasant 2 night DB&B stay 14th/15th September and were pleased with accommodation and the staff in general who were most helpful at all times along with the excellent standard of food produced by the Chef & his Team.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your glowing review of The Imperial Hotel after staying with us recently and awarding us 5 out of 5. You have touched upon many aspects, each in a very positive manner, but it is most pleasing to read how much you enjoyed the food served to you and the friendliness of our team of staff. Your review will be placed on our review board for our hard working team to read. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews