We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dress for dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“dress for dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Lovely hotel and lovely staff. We had a smallish room but easily had enough room for both our luggage and a lovely bathroom with nice products. Good shower and perfect quiet night's sleep. We were surprised to read about the dress code for dinner but had eaten already so that was lucky as we only had t-shirts etc. Nice TV and absolutely everything we needed.

Room Tip: we did not have a view (only another building nearby) but had not paid for expensive rooms so didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah1234562014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review The Imperial Hotel following your recent stay with us.

I am particularly pleased that you found the hotel lovely and that the staff were lovely.

It's also pleasing to hear that you found the room and particularly the bathroom, to be of a high standard and that you had perfect quiet nights sleep.

With regards to the dress code, we endeavour to ensure all guests are told of this on confirmations however the booking is made. The dress code however is not strict 'jacket and tie', it is 'smart casual' with no 'jeans, trainers, t-shirts or sportswear'.

Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,080
    272
    67
    19
    8
See reviews for
225
855
52
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

This sounds petty, but my only one criticism of the Imperial would be the paper napkins at breakfast. Everything else is perfect. It's immaculately clean, it's a stylish very upmarket hotel but welcoming at the same time. The staff are friendly and conduct themselves in a professional manner at all times. Would I stay there again ? Yes, without hesitation. I look forward to trying the other hotels within the Brend group.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lordnethercot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your review following your stay at The Imperial Hotel

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found all aspects 'perfect'.

Of all your welcoming feedback, the praise put on our hard working staff is most pleasing to read and I will be sure to place this on our 'review board' for all to see.

Again thank you for your positive review and I do hope we can welcome you back to The Imperial very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

my wife and I spent 3 days at this superb hotel. Everything was to our liking, the food, the staff and our room. We always enjoy Brend hotels but consider the Imperial the best of all. One or two people did not observe the evening dress code which perhaps could be insisted upon. The saturday evening singer in the dining room was also first class. all in all faultless.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a glowing review of The Imperial Hotel following your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found all aspects 'first class' and that consider the Imperial to be best in the group.

With regards to the dress code, we do have a rule of 'jacket and tie preferred' with smart casual accepted but no jeans, trainers, t-shirts or sportswear. Being in a commercial town we find that smart casual allows business guests that stay and dress formally all day can at least dress down a little for dinner.

Your comments regarding Pete Fry our Saturday singer will be passed on this weekend.

Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back once more in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

My stay was short & sweet and most enjoyable. Ideal location for my work at the North Devon Leisure Centre & The Tarka Tennis Centre in my role as a sports journalist & photographer. The food was excellent and all attention to detail was much appreciated. Staff warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TonyA1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.

It is very pleasing that as a business traveller, you enjoyed your time at The Imperial and felt that our service was attentive as well as excellent food and warm and welcoming staff.

Your comments are very much appreciated and be assured that your review will be placed on our review board for them all to see.

Thank you again and I do hope to welcome you back to The Imperial Hotel again when visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed one night 12th April, anniversary break. Room was small but was fine, very clean.
Staff were professional, and friendly.
Service in restaurant was excellent.
Food was very good.
We did go and use the leisure facilities of the sister hotel, The Barnstaple Hotel which was 5-10 mins away and was disappointed with this, would not go again but would definitely stay at the Imperial again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Imperial Hotel and for scoring us so highly. It is so pleasing that you chose to spend your Anniversary with us and I am glad that your stay was most enjoyable.

Your comments regarding our hard working staff members across all departments are lovely to read, and be assured these will be passed on to them via our 'review board' located in our staff room.

It is also great to read that you enjoyed your dining experience with us here at The Imperial; this is something we pride ourselves on so comments such as these are very much appreciated, particularly by our team of chefs.

Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back once more in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtead
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

After check in to our room we found that there was quite a pervasive odour. After some discussion with the duty manager it was agreed that the smell was almost certainly due to recent decorating works. We were immediately offered an alternative upgraded room and help with moving our luggage. Excellent service recovery!
The room was very clean and well serviced. The location for Barnstaple can not be bettered. The staff are friendly and courteous.
Our only minor criticism is that whilst the breakfast menu is comprehensive the quality of some items was not of the 'first order' - eg. tinned mushrooms, thin tomato juice, rather tasteless black pudding. In contrast the sausage and bacon was excellent and the food was served on nice hot plates.
Overall, a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review The Imperial Hotel following your recent stay with us.

I am particularly pleased that you found the hotel had a friendly atmosphere and that the staff are very professional and courteous in their work.

With regards to the 'pervasive odour' in the room on arrival, it did turn out to be that of paint and it was more than a pleasure to move you to another room.
Your comments regarding breakfast will be looked into and be assured that we never use tinned mushrooms, we always use fresh mushrooms.

Thank you again and I do hope to welcome you back to The Imperial Hotel again when visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WROUGHTON
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

I was born and brought up in Braunton moved away in 1973 for work but try to make it back down every six weeks or so. We usually stay with family but occasionally book into a hotel. We always choose a 'Brend' hotel. This time we chose the Imperial and it certainly did not disappoint! It is beautiful hotel, clean, with friendly efficient staff and delicious food, in fact everything you would expect from a 'Brend' hotel. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank YOUKNOWWHO11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a glowing review of The Imperial Hotel following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you felt the staff were 'friendly and efficient' and that our food was to a high standard and the Imperial didn't dissapoint.

Your comments are very much appreciated and be assured that your review will be placed on our review board for them all to see.

Thank you again and I do hope to welcome you back to The Imperial Hotel again when visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
0.9 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel
9.7 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: The Imperial Taw Vale Parade, Barnstaple EX32 8NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Imperial Hotel, Barnstaple, North Devon, is part of the prestigious Brend chain of West Country hotels. Overlooking the River Taw at the heart of the market town of Barnstaple, this exceptional four-star hotel combines old-style charm with the highest standards of comfort and service. Whether you're looking for a family holiday or a peaceful break, the Imperial is the place for superb service. The hotel is also a popular venue for conferences, banquets and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Barnstaple
The Imperial Hotel Barnstaple, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing