We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best English hotel we have stayed in.”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Reviewed August 10, 2013

food is excellent and the staff are well trained . The Hotel is clean and spacious rooms and comfortable beds. We stayed for a week and would highly recommend it. If you are fed up of being 'ripped off' by English hotels that charge the earth and do not deliver the goods try this one you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,614)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,405 - 1,411 of 1,614 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

Had a two night stay on 6th August 2013. The hotel seems a little old fashioned but very clean and tidy and not shabby at all. Suits the more mature person I think but the room was very clean and tidy. The beds were comfy and the linen very clean and felt new. I did ask for a twin room and got a double. Not really a problem. Also there was no coffee but I could ring reception to request some and didn't so that was down to me. Overall very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

A lovely hotel in a lovely setting. Very nice large room overlooking river, with a comfortable bed, slept well. Above all the staff were amazing, so helpful, especially Adam as nothing was too much for him and always with a smile. Breakfast was everything you could hope for as a true 'Full English'. Really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DB7GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a very pleasant short stay at The Imperial and were very well looked after from start to finish. All the staff are friendly and efficient and the hotel director, Matthew, even went out of his way to track me down when I inadvertently left the car window opened and it started raining. Very good food especially the breakfasts which set us up well for the day ahead. Good location next to the river and a short stroll into the town centre.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lord_Brett_Sinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Hotel Director at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Many thanks for your glowing review of The Imperial Hotel following your recent stay with us.

I am most glad that you felt the staff were 'friendly and efficient' and that our food was to a high standard.

Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Booked superior room, while overlooking the river, room was very small, furniture very dated. There were no slippers, fridge or safe provided, the TV remote control did not work. When we complaint we were told if we wanted a deluxe room we would have to pay £40.00 extra a night. Pillows very flat and uncomfortable and soiled under pillowcases, cooked breakfast is good but poor selection of fruit and no selection of bread The lounge was pleasant and well appointed however, the rest of the building had plastic flowers on landings and halls. On two occasions we had coffee waiter just left the tray for us to serve our selves. This is more a 3*hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Hotel Director at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of The Imperial Hotel, Barnstaple.

I am most disappointed that on this occasion we were not able to satisfy your requirements as well as we'd hope. Please accept my apologies for this.

Be assured that your comments will be taken on board and looked in to at length.

I hope you decide to visit us or another Brend Hotel again for a more enjoyable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Always enjoy our visits - most of the guests are regulars which proves the popularity of this hotel. Ideally placed for shopping centre, railway and bus stations. Comfortable lounges,superb food and enough friendly and efficient staff on hand to make sure your stay is a happy one!

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable and clean but for a special occasion holiday try one of the deluxe rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just spent a wonderful week at this beautiful hotel. Faultless holiday. Staff excellent, food superb and beautifully presented. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, be it in a group or on your own. Bar prices rather high but all top quality. Best hotel we have stayed in for a long time in this country. Gardens and hanging baskets fantastic.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor on the front are larger and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
1.0 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#4 of 6 in Barnstaple
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,823 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
856 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: The Imperial Taw Vale Parade, Barnstaple EX32 8NB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range: $117 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Imperial Hotel, Barnstaple, North Devon, is part of the prestigious Brend chain of West Country hotels. Overlooking the River Taw at the heart of the market town of Barnstaple, this exceptional four-star hotel combines old-style charm with the highest standards of comfort and service. Whether you're looking for a family holiday or a peaceful break, the Imperial is the place for superb service. The hotel is also a popular venue for conferences, banquets and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Barnstaple
The Imperial Hotel Barnstaple, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing