We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in North Devon”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
St. Neots, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best hotel in North Devon”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We have visited this hotel many times over the years and since being acquired by the Brend family it has become an even greater favourite.
The staff are friendly, courteous and very professional. The rooms, especialy those with a river view are comfortable and very well serviced. The restaurant offers a varied selection of dishes, all extremely well prepared and presented by staff who would do credit to the best 5 star hotels. The location is quiet but within easy walking distance of the busy Barnstaple shops.

Room Tip: The rooms looking over the river are quite expensive but well worth it for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 783degs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,101
    287
    69
    19
    8
See reviews for
231
872
56
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights as my Birthday treat.The Hotel is immaculate with Staff the same and service from them 1st class.
It was good to stay somewhere with such lovely staff.
The only downside was the very hard bed.why do hotels not have a proper mattress topper for guests like me,to be put onto the bed if needed.
But other than the bed 10/10

Room Tip: Don't have room 232 the view is awful and extractors very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Hotel Director at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for your review of The Imperial Hotel. I am most pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, especially as it was a birthday celebration.

Your comments regarding our staff are particlarly pleasing and will be passed on to them personally as well as showing on our review board.

I am sorry to hear that the bed you slept in was hard; since your review we have looked in to this so thank you for your feedback. We do provide mattress toppers which are readily available on request so please do ask should you decide to stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I headed to Bideford the weekend of 8th September for the South Coast Amateur Rowing Championships. Upon arrival at 11 o’clock at night we discovered that the static caravan accommodation that we had been promised for the night was in fact a tiny single bed for both of us. Being very aware that my boyfriend was due to be racing the next morning and therefore needed a decent night’s sleep, I decided that we would find a hotel for the night. Not an easy feat it turned out…! After having been laughed at by a few hotel receptionists around Bideford for even trying to find a room (no, thank you… we’ve been booked up since January), I decided to try Barnstaple.
My first telephone call to Martin at the Barnstaple Hotel was such a different experience! He was polite, friendly and told me that he would give me a call back once he was at the Reception desk. Sure enough, within 2 minutes I received a call to say that they unfortunately didn’t have any vacancies for that night, but he could see the availability at the other hotels in the Brend Hotel Group, and the Imperial had a double room free. I very quickly called the Imperial, booked the room and upon arrival was met by a relatively old-fashioned looking reception area. Being that it was now almost midnight and after a 4 hour journey we were both very tired, we just took the key and headed up to our room, not expecting all that much. Such a wonderful surprise! A clean, modern, recently refurbished room. The room was quiet, the bed comfortable and the staff were unfailingly polite. What a happy accident that we stumbled upon this place- we will book again for next year. Oh, and the bf won his race.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We visit this hotel a lot, perhaps three times or more a year. The food, which is served in a very attractive restaurant is extremely good and staff are polite and helpful - we just love going there!

Most of the guests are over 60, so don't expect wild entertainment or lots of noise, we wouldn't go there if this was the case! The whole hotel is spotlessly clean and what we do is leave our car in the car park and walk across the road to the charming town centre - we love that too. Barnstaple has a good selection of shops catering for all needs while still retaining its market town feel.

Room Tip: Go for a standard room, as good as any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrixhamJeanjeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Everything about this hotel was first class. Loved it's crusty old but in great decorative order building and rooms with lots of space . We were part of a group of 16 and all our needs were catered for in a most pleasant manner. All staff interacted and had smiles on there faces. It was the standard of service I would have expected in the far east but don't see so often here at home in UK. Well done everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 865wanderlust1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Hotel Director at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for your review of The Imperial Hotel, Barnstaple. I am most pleased that we could make your stay an enjoyable one. I will be sure to pass on your comments to all of our staff via our review board & weekly meeting and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEVON
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at the Imperial for 1 night to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary so for us it was a very important stay and we were certainly not disappointed from the very warm welcome on our arrival, excellent accommodation which would grace any 5 star Hotel, then an excellent dinner which was beautifully presented and prepared, the lovely touch of a card and bottle of wine and then a lovely breakfast in the morning. All the staff were very attentive and professional, the Hotel is beautifully furnished and nothing is to much trouble. We will definitely be back to celebrate my birthday in Feb and can not wait. Impossible to recommend this Hotel high enough.

Room Tip: If possible have a front view deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOBBSFAMILYDEVON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2012

we have stayed at the imperial hotel barnstaple for many years spring/summer/winter/and for the last 6 years we have spent enjoying the new year break this two night break was a treat for my wifes birthday my wife had a birthday card from the management and staff and a bottle of wne we would recommend this hotel to any one the staff are very good the food is as good as any four star hotel we have stayed at and better than some we are now looking forwad to our new year break

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perkins83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
1.0 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,748 reviews
9.7 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
807 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: The Imperial Taw Vale Parade, Barnstaple EX32 8NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Imperial Hotel, Barnstaple, North Devon, is part of the prestigious Brend chain of West Country hotels. Overlooking the River Taw at the heart of the market town of Barnstaple, this exceptional four-star hotel combines old-style charm with the highest standards of comfort and service. Whether you're looking for a family holiday or a peaceful break, the Imperial is the place for superb service. The hotel is also a popular venue for conferences, banquets and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Barnstaple
The Imperial Hotel Barnstaple, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing