We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do much better ...”
Review of Funder Zone

Funder Zone
Ranked #2 of 8 Fun & Games in Barnstaple
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: North Devon's Largest Indoor Soft Play Centre.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Could do much better ...”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I've taken my kids to Funderzone 20-odd times in the last couple of year's. When the weather is miserable an indoor soft-play area should be a God-send. Let your little loves run off all of that excess energy whilst you read the paper and sip on a large café latte.

In many ways, Funderzone achieves this on all occasions however, I usually leave with my kids with an underwhelmed feeling.

I have been when it's busy ... little or no attempt is made to keep the floor tidy, clear the tables or help find parents a place to sit. When it's quiet, the experience is exactly the same.

My main gripe though is with the staff ... a collection of young women who hardly smile, never react or show enthusiasm to the children and have little customer service skill (for example, you hand over money the attendant could smile and say thanks). The only time they are animated is when they're having banter with the chefs behind the kitchen door (which has a window you can see them through).

I recently went to another indoor play area in South Molton. In my opinion it is so worth the extra drive as it is everything Funderzone isn't - clean, friendly and value for money.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Webbster77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funderzone, Marketing Manager at Funder Zone, responded to this review, August 3, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review your play experience here at FunderZone.
All feedback is very important to us for us to be able to improve on our offering and ensure that everyone had a great time whilst here with us.
It is great to hear that when you have visit us that on all occasions your family have had a fantastic play time and enjoyed your 4 story play frame and the little ones have ran off all of their excess energy.
Customer Service is very important to us and as part of our commitment to our customers the staff have been enrolled in NVQ Customer Service training to further their development. We are sorry to hear that in the past you have not experienced the service you would expect. We hope to welcome you again for more fun at FunderZone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    30
    14
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“First Party, very good!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My 5 year old son had his first party here recently. We chose to have it after school as we know how busy weekends can get. We had 16 children, and pretty much the place to ourselves, which was a bonus. Each child chose a meal at the beginnig of the party to be served later, followed by ice cream. Teh kids got goodies to take home, cater to their gender. The staff were very accomadating to our requests for little extras and were really friendly.
I would definetly reccomend if you want a party were, as parents you dont have to do alot! The kids love it too, although our wallets didnt so much, at almost £11 a head. But worth it for the hassle free and enjoyable party had.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank melissa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funderzone, Marketing Manager at Funder Zone, responded to this review, August 3, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review your child's birthday party here at FunderZone. We understand how stressful birthday parties can be with all of the planning and organisation that it takes. Our children's parties are designed to help parents with every step of the planning, from providing you with the invites, themed to match your party theme, organising the children's party food all the way through to providing party gift bags for each child to take home afterwards.
We are delighted to hear that our staff were attentive and helped you every step of the way.
We hope to welcome you and your family again soon for more fun at FunderZone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great fun in the rain for kids”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great for all ages of kids, places for adults to sit and chat etc. Drinks and snacks available for all. Great value for money.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funderzone, Marketing Manager at Funder Zone, responded to this review, August 3, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review your play experience here at FunderZone. We are delighted to hear that you and your children enjoy your play time with us, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future for more fun here at FunderZone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Kids love it”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Every time we go it is always busy.The kids love running around climbing going down slides et.Nice little area for the babys bout would be better if stopped older kids going into baby part other then that great place on a rainy day.Food is good and get plenty of it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gavin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funderzone, Marketing Manager at Funder Zone, responded to this review, August 3, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review your play experience here at FunderZone. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoy your play times with us and that you also enjoy our extensive menu.
The under 3's area is especially equipped for little ones, and whilst we do our very best to ensure that older children do not enter the area, at busy times this can be quite difficult to police, which is why we ask for parents to supervisor their children to ensure that everyone has the very best play time experience here at FunderZone.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future for more fun here at FunderZone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great day out”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

really enjoyed our family holiday in devon,took kids to funderzone,because of rain,pleasant staff good food,would definantly go back,had a great day at wolcombe went on beach in the sun,then went on pirate crazy golf,man in kiosk was very nice,and made us lovely coffee

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank linda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funderzone, Marketing Manager at Funder Zone, responded to this review, August 3, 2015
We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely holiday in North Devon and that you and your family had a wonderful play time with us here at FunderZone.
Thank your for taking the time to review your experience with us! We hope to welcome you again should you holiday in Devon again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Funder Zone also viewed

 
Barnstaple, Devon
 

Been to Funder Zone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing