We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Twixmas break”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Marsh Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Barnstaple, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
robinsonp...
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Twixmas break”
Reviewed December 31, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Following a terrible journey on M4 & M5 (7hrs) snow, Xmas traffic etc, etc it was a delight to reach Marsh cottage & relief. Although arriving in dark, so couldn't appreciate the garden till morning. The cottage is lovely. Plenty big enough for our party of 4 adults, 1 toddler & dogs. It has everything that we needed & really cosy & comfortable.
Next day although stormy, there are lovely beaches, not far away to explore. Great fun watching huge waves. The dogs loved it.
Would love to return soon hopefully.
Making 2017 Christmas, very special to remember.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2018
So sorry to hear about your adventurous journey! But glad you found peace and comfort at Marsh Cottage! The North Devon beaches are glorious in whatever weather!! Hope to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
722lmcv
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a lovely, cosy stay!”
Reviewed December 4, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

What a lovely cottage... stayed here for a long weekend with my family, six of us altogether and we were all very impressed. This cottage has everything you could possibly need, from doggy treats to washing tablets. We were greeted with a bottle of wine which was lovely after the long drive.
The beds were comfortable and bedrooms were spacious. Kitchen was well equipped and clean, in fact everywhere was spotless! Living spaces were again spacious and cosy, had everything needed to start the log burner. Garden is perfect for the four legged kind. Location is great, everything is a short drive away and a short walk to the local pub...
We all enjoyed our stay and were not ready to come home... will definitely be coming back! Thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 7, 2017
Lovely review thank you. Hope to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 28, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2017
Thank you! The log burner is lovely for cosy winter evenings. Glad you liked the little extras! Always welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sazp2013
Feltham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Beautiful ”
Reviewed November 21, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

A beautiful cottage in a lovely quiet town. Very tidy and charming with a log fire and lovely warm heating. A short drive from towns and lots of information for things to do. Could not fault the accommodation it was wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2017
Thank you, the cottage in in the hamlet of Lovacott, a short drive from the large town of Barnstaple - so it seems the ideal combination of peace and tranquility with plenty of things on the doorstep to do/see if needed. Thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destinati...
1 review
“Perfect pet friendly cottage in an idyllic location.”
Reviewed October 12, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The cottage was close enough to the shops to be convenient but far enough away to be a complete recluse. We went away with friend and our 2 dogs who loved the garden especially the windfall apples. The cottage was spacious and had everything you would need even milk in the fridge so we could have a cup of tea before starting to unpack.We also had a bottle of welcoming wine left on the table which was a lovely thoughtful touch. I would recommend the cottage to anyone and would not hesitate to book this again in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2017
Look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley P
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 10, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My family including dogs spent a wonderful week at Marsh Cottage this September. We arrived to a beautiful, warm, clean , and spacious home. Everything you could need had been provided, even doggie treats for the dogs ! Beautiful decor with plenty of attention to detail...wine, flowers , and milk, fresh drinking water left in the fridge. Warm, we used the log burner once as it seemed the right thing to do in such a cosy cottage...but it wasn't really needed the heating in the cottage was ample ! Clean, the shower rooms and bathroom were beautifully clean with little baskets of cleaning materials should you need them left in each. Spacious , such a good idea to have the games room ,close to the kitchen so little ones can here the bussle in the kitchen and not worry about missing out, stocked with plenty of games ,both board and tech. Everything about the cottage made us feel comfy and very relaxed....even the owl hooting when we were all tucked up in the very comfy beds !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 11, 2017
Ah that's a great review thank you! We try to keep the standard as high as we can and think the extras make all the difference. Hope to welcome you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuathalai...
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely dog friendly holiday Cottage in North Devon”
Reviewed September 17, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely 4 night break at Marsh Cottage, despite the recent stormy weather. The cottage was exceptionally well equipped with quality fixtures and fittings and as a previous owner of a successful holiday rental abroad, I am a bit of a perfectionist, so we really appreciated the level of cleanliness and attention to the little details and extras, that make this cottage, stand out from the rest. Claire the owner was very responsive to messages and also very kindly let us bring our new rescue dog. whom we acquired after I had already booked the holiday. The Cottage is very comfortable, with good WiFi and is a good base for exploring the North Devon Coastline.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2017
Thank you for this great review. I'm glad you had a good stay. We are continually trying to find ways to improve things and add in extras when we think of them! We are really proud of the cleanliness at the cottage and this is down the expert that is Jo our wonderful cleaner/caretaker. I hope to welcome you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing