We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a lovely, cosy stay!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Marsh Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Barnstaple, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
722lmcv
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a lovely, cosy stay!”
Reviewed December 4, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

What a lovely cottage... stayed here for a long weekend with my family, six of us altogether and we were all very impressed. This cottage has everything you could possibly need, from doggy treats to washing tablets. We were greeted with a bottle of wine which was lovely after the long drive.
The beds were comfortable and bedrooms were spacious. Kitchen was well equipped and clean, in fact everywhere was spotless! Living spaces were again spacious and cosy, had everything needed to start the log burner. Garden is perfect for the four legged kind. Location is great, everything is a short drive away and a short walk to the local pub...
We all enjoyed our stay and were not ready to come home... will definitely be coming back! Thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 7, 2017
Lovely review thank you. Hope to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 28, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2017
Thank you! The log burner is lovely for cosy winter evenings. Glad you liked the little extras! Always welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Saz P
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Beautiful ”
Reviewed November 21, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

A beautiful cottage in a lovely quiet town. Very tidy and charming with a log fire and lovely warm heating. A short drive from towns and lots of information for things to do. Could not fault the accommodation it was wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2017
Thank you, the cottage in in the hamlet of Lovacott, a short drive from the large town of Barnstaple - so it seems the ideal combination of peace and tranquility with plenty of things on the doorstep to do/see if needed. Thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destinati...
1 review
“Perfect pet friendly cottage in an idyllic location.”
Reviewed October 12, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The cottage was close enough to the shops to be convenient but far enough away to be a complete recluse. We went away with friend and our 2 dogs who loved the garden especially the windfall apples. The cottage was spacious and had everything you would need even milk in the fridge so we could have a cup of tea before starting to unpack.We also had a bottle of welcoming wine left on the table which was a lovely thoughtful touch. I would recommend the cottage to anyone and would not hesitate to book this again in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2017
Look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley P
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 10, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My family including dogs spent a wonderful week at Marsh Cottage this September. We arrived to a beautiful, warm, clean , and spacious home. Everything you could need had been provided, even doggie treats for the dogs ! Beautiful decor with plenty of attention to detail...wine, flowers , and milk, fresh drinking water left in the fridge. Warm, we used the log burner once as it seemed the right thing to do in such a cosy cottage...but it wasn't really needed the heating in the cottage was ample ! Clean, the shower rooms and bathroom were beautifully clean with little baskets of cleaning materials should you need them left in each. Spacious , such a good idea to have the games room ,close to the kitchen so little ones can here the bussle in the kitchen and not worry about missing out, stocked with plenty of games ,both board and tech. Everything about the cottage made us feel comfy and very relaxed....even the owl hooting when we were all tucked up in the very comfy beds !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 11, 2017
Ah that's a great review thank you! We try to keep the standard as high as we can and think the extras make all the difference. Hope to welcome you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuathalai...
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely dog friendly holiday Cottage in North Devon”
Reviewed September 17, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely 4 night break at Marsh Cottage, despite the recent stormy weather. The cottage was exceptionally well equipped with quality fixtures and fittings and as a previous owner of a successful holiday rental abroad, I am a bit of a perfectionist, so we really appreciated the level of cleanliness and attention to the little details and extras, that make this cottage, stand out from the rest. Claire the owner was very responsive to messages and also very kindly let us bring our new rescue dog. whom we acquired after I had already booked the holiday. The Cottage is very comfortable, with good WiFi and is a good base for exploring the North Devon Coastline.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2017
Thank you for this great review. I'm glad you had a good stay. We are continually trying to find ways to improve things and add in extras when we think of them! We are really proud of the cleanliness at the cottage and this is down the expert that is Jo our wonderful cleaner/caretaker. I hope to welcome you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishas...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect! An Outstanding home from home”
Reviewed July 29, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We are a family of 8 with kids from 18 to 6 months old and stayed at Marsh Cottage for 4 nights from the 24th to 28th July 2017.

From the moment we parked up and ventured through the garden gate we knew this was going to be lovely.

The house was impeccably clean. And I mean super clean. As a Muslim, cleanliness is absolutely paramount and this place was perfect for us.

The house has everything you could ever need and more! The garden is secluded and beautifully kept.

The games room with the wii and toys etc was brilliant and provided lots of moments of fun and laughter.

The kitchen is fully kitted out and was a joy to cook and eat in.

The bedrooms are perfectly appointed and there was enough room for everyone.

the living room is perfect for cozy nights after a long day out climbing, walking and sailing.

Cannot recommend this cottage enough. Brilliantly located to get everywhere. Bravo to the owners for making that extra effort to make this cottage a home for all.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2017
Thank you! This was lovely to read. I'm glad we met your expectations- we do try to think of everything to make a holidaying a real pleasure! We would love to welcome you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing