We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family Trip to a Wonderful Devon Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Barnstaple, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JPB29x
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family Trip to a Wonderful Devon Cottage”
Reviewed June 17, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

An amazing stay, the cottage is excellent, has all the things you need and is very comfy and clean. the indoor pool is excellent and we spent an hour or two in it every day. Its in a great location, close to beaches, a sainsburys just round the corner and loads of great activities for the kids, theme parks, national trust properties etc.

We will definitely return !

Thanks, Jon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely property plenty of space very good value and small dogs welcome”
Reviewed June 6, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

only 10 minutes from the local fish and chips shop with local shopping near by, 3 miles down the road from the beach with plenty of space for our dog

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseandy2...
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“fabulous place to stay in a beautiful part of the country”
Reviewed June 6, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Our 2nd time at Combrew Farm, took more family this time - ranging from toddler to grandparents. I cant speak highly enough of this place, the accommodation is beautifully kept, spacious, with everything you need for a break in the UK. The swimming pool is a huge plus point, good play area for the kids, with some friendly farm animal spectators!
the surrounding area is great, so close to lots of beaches, restaurants, and the Tarka Trail.
Sue, John and family are fabulous hosts. Will definitely return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann A
St Columb Major, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxation on tap”
Reviewed December 11, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I am doomed never to write a review on here for Combrew. Had difficulties with technology in September, just tried to send again and wrote a massive review which I managed to wipe off! Suffice it to say it is wonderful in every respect and John and Sue are excellent hosts - not in your face but there if you need them.
Go on - book it. You won't regret it, and we have stayed six or seven times and still enjoy it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The opportunity to live just as you want to - no need for airs and graces.
Liked least: Nothing really. Might be difficult for people who don't drive but regular bus service from the end of the road
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraAn...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent relaxing holiday.”
Reviewed September 23, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

When we arrived at Combrew Farm we received a warm welcome from Sue.
We stayed in Barn Owl cottage, it was excellent in every way.
We had good weather and were able to sit outside on the table and chairs to have breakfast in the sunshine.
The cottage is very comfortable , upstairs a four poster bed and ensuite bathroom and also a single room.Downstairs a twin room and a bathroom with bath shower and toilet.
A good size kitchen very well equipped with a lovely farmhouse table and chairs.
The lounge has a comfortable sofa and chairs and a wood burner.
The swimming pool and gym are just opposite the cottage.
We love the area, it is well placed for visiting lots of interesting places.
Our favourites are Instow and Appledore. Barnstaple is very good for shopping.
We have already booked again for next year, in fact we had trouble getting in as the cottages get booked so quickly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The excellent facilities ,the relaxing atmosphere there,the friendly hosts.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
dutchy201...
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed May 16, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We only stayed at Combrew Farm Cottages for two nights, but we wished we could have stayed longer.
Nice spacious cottage. To find some basics like milk and their own free range eggs (very tasty ones) in the kitchen for us was very welcoming. We all loved the warm pool. The kids thought the jets and spa in the pool were great fun. The games room was well used by our 12 and 9 year old. We loved the beach at Instow, so did our dog. All in all a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: The disappointing weather on our second day
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing