We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous time had by all, even by the dogs”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Barnstaple, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Greeta S
1 review
“Fabulous time had by all, even by the dogs”
Reviewed October 10, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We were a family of 9 including a baby and 2 dogs. The cottage was spacious and clean and had a lovely kitchen where we spent most of our evenings. A 15 min walk from the beach and 5 min drive to local supermarket was ideal for us. We would highly recommend to everyone who wants a nice family holiday. owners were friendly and welcoming and the heated pool was a delight after a long day walking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The heated pool
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B
1 review
“Perfect holiday cottage for families”
Reviewed October 2, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

If you are looking for a holiday cottage to accommodate families this is perfect, myself and my husband went with our two children, both our parents and two dogs, Rose cottage had plenty of space for everyone and great facilities!
The swimming pool was brilliant size for our two young girls and was just across the garden. My oldest daughter who is nearly 3 years old loved the park area, animals, and swimming pool, she felt so at home there she was sad to leave.
Sue and her family were lovely and the service provided was first class.
The location of the farm was brilliant as the closes beach was a short trip up the road and in 30 mins you could reach loads of lovely towns. Lots of places to eat close by.
We are looking forward to returning in the future!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulhobda...
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfect stay at a perfect location”
Reviewed September 30, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We chose Rose Cottage based on Trip Advisor reviews submitted by previous visitors and I'm pleased to say it more than lived up to our expectations. The cottage is maintained to a high standard and contains everything you need to enjoy a relaxing time in the North Devon countryside. The kitchen has to be seen to be believed,a massive kitchen table plus every conceivable kitchen utensil, there isn't anything you cant prepare in this kitchen. The beds are without doubt the most comfy I have slept in. I would recommend Rose Cottage to any extended family looking for somewhere special to stay in North Devon for either a short or a long break.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnb1233...
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to stay for a fun, relaxing family holiday.”
Reviewed July 3, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Combrew Farm was easy to find, down a lane away from main road traffic and close to lots of places that we wanted visit. Rose Barn was excellent, lots of space and fitted out to a high standard. There was plenty to do at the Farm, play park, pets, tennis and badminton courts,
games room but our favourite was the pool which we used every day. Combrew is within walking distance of Fremington Quay and the Tarka Trail. We had great weather and visited the sandy beaches at Instow and Woolacombe, and had fun days at Appledore and Watermouth
Castle. We all really enjoyed our stay and would love to come back again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious, comfortable accommodation and indoor pool
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Hen day”
Reviewed February 20, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We all had an amazing stay in Rose cottage for our hen day / night. The cottage is stunning and fully equipped for everything you need and more. We made the most of the facilities including the fabulous pool. We had a wonderful afternoon of the most delicious cream tea and beauty treatments. I would definitely recommend it to others and can't wait to go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Debs10120...
East Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“BEST UK HOLIDAY EVER”
Reviewed September 12, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

No exaggeration, this is the best holiday property we have ever stayed in. We were made to feel at home, by Sue, from the moment we arrived, with a welcome pack of fresh eggs tea bags etc to make a much needed cup of tea after a long journey. Rose Cottage is luxurious. It has everything you could need during your stay. We were a mixed family group of 5 age ranges from 19 to 80, but the cottage is so spacious we did not feel we were in each others way. The kitchen diner is to die for and the beds, well, what can I say, they are like sleeping on a cloud. Thank you Sue for our wonderful holiday we will 100% be back, we did not want to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Very good value
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing