We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect peaceful luxury getaway”
other travelers have booked this property
Bentwitchen Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bentwitchen Cottage
Living room showing open plan living Log fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Bentwitchen Cottage
Living room showing open plan living
Log fire
Dining Room
Dining Room
Kitchen with view to dining room
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Main bathroom
Main bathroom
The second bedroom
The third bedroom
Dressing room to third bedroom
Corridor
Corridor
Stairs to upstairs open plan living
Places of interest Tarr steps
Places of interest Rosemoor
Places of interest Withypool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Barnstaple, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
donnalee4...
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect peaceful luxury getaway”
Reviewed September 1, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

If you’re looking for a peaceful retreat in a good location with excellent facilities, this sympathetically converted barn certainly fits the bill. The owners were welcoming and informative, but not intrusive, they hit, just the right balance and went out of their way to point out the Stags grazing across the valley – this was the icing on a near perfect view. The accommodation is spacious, nicely designed and well equipped. We enjoyed a lovely stay with three generations of the family holidaying and the found the layout worked really well. It’s a great location to visit the surrounding area and Exmoor is stunning. We took up some of the owners recommendations for nearby eateries and were not disappointed! A really lovely stay and we would all be happy for a return visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2017
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dees s
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tranquil location”
Reviewed August 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is out in the sticks, lots of winding narrow country lanes to tackle but the location is well worth it. On arrival Jenny(owner) was welcoming and informative, the welcome bottle of vino was a lovely touch. The cottage was spacious and roomy in areas. The upstairs, being the kitchen, dining and lounge we're all great in size. The lighting upstairs was poor and quite dingy, the tv was way too small for the room size, you need to drag your chair closer.. The windows,considering the view was one to be admired, could really benefit from being bigger, to let in much needed light.
In the kitchen there is an agar, this is on constantly which makes the upstairs very hot so we had to have the windows and doors open most of the time.
The bedrooms were nicely decorated but there were a few issues. The bedroom that lead onto the dressing room, (small single bedroom), had no windows or door to open to let in air, and it felt rather damp most of the time, maybe due to the shower room being next to it and having no windows to open in there either. The walls to both of these rooms were open brickwork, which had lots of gaping holes and cracks so the amount of spiders that I had to get rid of of an a daily basis was vile, felt so uncomfortable. The finish of the woodwork, brickwork, ceilings were poor and this lead to lots of open gaps to welcome critters in.. Not good.. The double bed was comparable to lying on an ironing board, so I had to sleep on 2 quilts to be able to get any sleep. !!!
The patio area, well this was very unkept.. Cheap flimsy chairs, old tatty table and a moss covered bench, the whole patio area was neglected and in need of lots of TLC.
The outside had just 1 light at the front door, there is a desperate need for good lighting here, sensor lights or flood lights as when we came home later on in evening it was pitch black.. Very dangerous..
On leaving the cottage there was no goodbyes from the owners, no thank you or safe journey, so we didn't exactly feel like our custom was valued.
Overall, gorgeous location, well equipped but in need of lots of attention to detail, thus we wouldn't return, sadly..

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2017
Thank you for your comments. The location can be seen quite clearly on the map and the interior from photographs on the website. The barn has been converted to retain its authenticity, with exposed stonework and oak beams. The comments on the windows are noted but this is an area of outstanding natural beauty and subject to local planning regulations for historic buildings. We do ask guests to vacate the property punctually when we are in a position to say goodbye. We also hope that guests will leave the barn as they would wish to find it. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay as this is one of the few occasions we have had adverse comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rural retreat that's not too far from the coast”
Reviewed June 21, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Lovely cottage and a very warm friendly welcome from the owners. Jennie and David were very helpful and informative. The cottage is well designed and provides great accommodation for family or friends to stay. A perfect get away from it all if that's what you want but at the same time isn't too far away from Exmoor and coastal towns and beaches.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: aga, great master bedroom, open plan living area, location, thoughtful touches including the bottle of wine provided on arrival
Liked least: nothing!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeremymwi...
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful rural retreat”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Thanks so much to the owners. The cottage was absolutely wonderful and charming. It was warm - thanks to an open fire - spacious and comfortable. The setting was also perfect, set in a breathtaking area of Exmoor.

10/10

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: warm, cosy and spacious
Liked least: nothing I can think of
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sadsak_13
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal for our family reunion”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

In a beautiful location looking across the valley, this cottage provided ideal accommodation for six adults. Spacious, tastefully furnished, comfortable bedrooms and a well equiped open kitchen. The friendly owners live next door but did not interfere and were very apologetic when the aga had to be off for a day due to a problem with the oil tank. Problem was quickly sorted and we enjoyed a takeaway that night from South Moulton. Excellent spot if you want peace and quiet, yet the coast and surrounding beauty spots are easily accessible. Caught a glimpse of the stag basking in sunshine on the other side of the valley. Lovely find, would definitely go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Three double bedrooms and no single beds
Liked least: No mobile/wifi but this was due to location and not fault of owner
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie G
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Holiday”
Reviewed July 28, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We all had a great week in Devon didnt want to come home. The property was fantastic, Clean with everything you need. View was wonderful. The area is beautiful and quiet.

Must visit Combe Martin,Lynton & Lynmouth, and Exmoor So much to do but not enough time to fit it all in

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The proprty was wonderful
Liked least: We liked it all
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy P
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly welcome, beautifully appointed and a wonderful and peaceful location.”
Reviewed May 5, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We were treated like old friends on this our second visit. Jenny makes you feel at home as soon as you arrive and the warm spacious property gives all guests the room they need to relax. Each view is like a moving picture rather than a window. Even if the weather had been poor you couldn't help but relax. Everything you need is within a 20 minute dirve.
We thoroughly enjoyed the moor and were blessed with fantastic weather so we walked and walked. I would recommed this for a family break or a break with good friends. We will be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Design of property and aga.
Liked least: Distance to local pub.
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing