We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visit on 14th June”
Review of The Cream Tea Cafe

The Cream Tea Cafe
Ranked #3 of 14 Coffee & Tea in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Located just a scone's throw from the traditional pannier market in Barnstaple town centre, we at The Cream Tea Café are on a mission to provide you with the freshest food possible, and so to help us in this quest, we make the vast majority of our food from scratch here in our kitchen. We source other ingredients from local suppliers to bring you the very best Devon has to offer.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“visit on 14th June”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Cracking little place that does everything it says on the tin, tea was 1st rate and the scones fresh. Great service and a warm welcome from the staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    14
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lynton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“try and enjoy”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

discovered the cream tea café last year and go regularly, ideal for coffee and cake or a light lunch the sandwiches are freshly made, and they have delicious homemade cakes and scones,with china cups and proper tea no tea bags just remember to use the strainer they also have a specials board, the homemade quiche was delicious the couple who run it are very pleasant, well worth a visit

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

A real find, thoroughly enjoyed stumbling across this beautiful cafe after going to the pannier market, real attention to detail and excellent customer service cannot recommend a visit here for a traditional cream tea highly enough.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely cafe for morning coffee and choice of cakes”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Four adult members of my family made a first time visit to this lovely cafe which is tucked away just off the historical Butcher's Row in Barnstaple. What a delight to walk into a beautifully presented traditional cafe which serves lovely home made cakes and amazing fruit scones. As we were visiting for morning coffee, we perused the remaining menu and vowed to return for lunch and /or tea on another occasion as the variety and choice was very tempting. The quality of our coffees was excellent and we all enjoyed a variety of cakes. The service was caring and pleasant. Everywhere was scrupulously clean and a delight to experience. We will certainly return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaisyLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

What a lovely atmosphere in this café. We were served by two lovely people and we had a cream tea which was delicious. Apparently the lady there makes the scones which were fruity and a good size and extremely tasty. We also had REAL TEA not tea bags which was a real treat. The café was scrupulously clean and very welcoming. When visiting Barnstaple again we will certainly go there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulie027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cream Tea Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Cream Tea Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing